lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 28 Dec 2020 12:25:32 -0300
From:   Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>
To:     Hans-Peter Nilsson <hp@...s.com>
Cc:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>,
        Kan Liang <kan.liang@...ux.intel.com>,
        Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] perf record: Tweak "Lowering..." warning in
 record_opts__config_freq

Em Mon, Dec 28, 2020 at 04:19:08AM +0100, Hans-Peter Nilsson escreveu:
> That is, instead of "Lowering default frequency rate to <F>" say
> "Lowering default frequency rate from <f> to <F>", specifying
> the overridden default frequency <f>, so you don't have to grep
> through the source to "remember" that was e.g. 4000.

Thanks, applied.

- Arnaldo

 
> Signed-off-by: Hans-Peter Nilsson <hp@...s.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>
> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>
> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>
> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>
> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>
> Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@...ux.intel.com>
> Cc: Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>
> ---
>  tools/perf/util/record.c | 4 ++--
>  1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/tools/perf/util/record.c b/tools/perf/util/record.c
> index 07e4b96a6625..3b38e7be10da 100644
> --- a/tools/perf/util/record.c
> +++ b/tools/perf/util/record.c
> @@ -202,10 +202,10 @@ static int record_opts__config_freq(struct record_opts *opts)
>  	 * Default frequency is over current maximum.
>  	 */
>  	if (max_rate < opts->freq) {
> -		pr_warning("Lowering default frequency rate to %u.\n"
> +		pr_warning("Lowering default frequency rate from %u to %u.\n"
>  			   "Please consider tweaking "
>  			   "/proc/sys/kernel/perf_event_max_sample_rate.\n",
> -			   max_rate);
> +			   opts->freq, max_rate);
>  		opts->freq = max_rate;
>  	}
>  
> -- 
> 2.11.0
> 
> brgds, H-P

-- 

- Arnaldo

Powered by blists - more mailing lists