lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat,  2 Jan 2021 23:04:30 +0100
From:   Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...nel.org>
To:     Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>
Cc:     lkml <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@...llo.nl>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Michael Petlan <mpetlan@...hat.com>,
        Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>,
        Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>,
        Alexei Budankov <abudankov@...wei.com>
Subject: [PATCH 11/22] perf daemon: Add stop command

Add 'perf daemon stop' command to stop daemon process
and all running sessions.

Example:

  # cat ~/.perfconfig
  [daemon]
  base=/opt/perfdata

  [session-cycles]
  run = -m 10M -e cycles --overwrite --switch-output -a

  [session-sched]
  run = -m 20M -e sched:* --overwrite --switch-output -a

Starting the daemon:

  # perf daemon start

Stopping the daemon

  # perf daemon stop

Daemon is not running, nothing to connect to:

  # perf daemon
  connect error: Connection refused

Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...nel.org>
---
 tools/perf/builtin-daemon.c | 28 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 28 insertions(+)

diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-daemon.c b/tools/perf/builtin-daemon.c
index a7ffbecf8d14..45748bb471ec 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-daemon.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-daemon.c
@@ -524,6 +524,7 @@ static int setup_server_socket(struct daemon *daemon)
 enum {
 	CMD_LIST   = 0,
 	CMD_SIGNAL = 1,
+	CMD_STOP   = 2,
 	CMD_MAX,
 };
 
@@ -650,6 +651,10 @@ static int handle_server_socket(struct daemon *daemon, int sock_fd)
 	case CMD_SIGNAL:
 		ret = cmd_session_kill(daemon, &cmd, out);
 		break;
+	case CMD_STOP:
+		done = 1;
+		pr_debug("perf daemon is exciting\n");
+		break;
 	default:
 		break;
 	}
@@ -992,6 +997,27 @@ static int __cmd_signal(struct daemon *daemon, struct option parent_options[],
 	return send_cmd(daemon, &cmd);
 }
 
+static int __cmd_stop(struct daemon *daemon, struct option parent_options[],
+			int argc, const char **argv)
+{
+	struct option start_options[] = {
+		OPT_PARENT(parent_options),
+		OPT_END()
+	};
+	union cmd cmd = { .cmd = CMD_STOP, };
+
+	argc = parse_options(argc, argv, start_options, daemon_usage, 0);
+	if (argc)
+		usage_with_options(daemon_usage, start_options);
+
+	if (setup_config(daemon)) {
+		pr_err("failed: config not found\n");
+		return -1;
+	}
+
+	return send_cmd(daemon, &cmd);
+}
+
 int cmd_daemon(int argc, const char **argv)
 {
 	struct option daemon_options[] = {
@@ -1015,6 +1041,8 @@ int cmd_daemon(int argc, const char **argv)
 	if (argc) {
 		if (!strcmp(argv[0], "signal"))
 			return __cmd_signal(&__daemon, daemon_options, argc, argv);
+		else if (!strcmp(argv[0], "stop"))
+			return __cmd_stop(&__daemon, daemon_options, argc, argv);
 
 		pr_err("failed: unknown command '%s'\n", argv[0]);
 		return -1;
-- 
2.26.2

Powered by blists - more mailing lists