lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 8 Jan 2021 20:45:44 +0100
From:   Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
To:     Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>
Cc:     Mel Gorman <mgorman@...hsingularity.net>,
        "Li, Aubrey" <aubrey.li@...ux.intel.com>,
        linux-kernel <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@...hat.com>,
        Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@....com>,
        Qais Yousef <qais.yousef@....com>,
        Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Ben Segall <bsegall@...gle.com>,
        Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Jiang Biao <benbjiang@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC][PATCH 1/5] sched/fair: Fix select_idle_cpu()s cost
 accounting

On Fri, Jan 08, 2021 at 04:10:51PM +0100, Vincent Guittot wrote:
> Also, there is another problem (that I'm investigating)  which is that
> this_rq()->avg_idle is stalled when your cpu is busy. Which means that
> this avg_idle can just be a very old and meaningless value. I think
> that we should decay it periodically to reflect there is less and less

https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180530143105.977759909@infradead.org

:-)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists