lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 12 Jan 2021 15:47:39 +0800
From:   Claire Chang <tientzu@...omium.org>
To:     Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
Cc:     Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@...cle.com>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>, mpe@...erman.id.au,
        benh@...nel.crashing.org, paulus@...ba.org,
        "list@....net:IOMMU DRIVERS" <iommu@...ts.linux-foundation.org>,
        Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>, will@...nel.org,
        Frank Rowand <frowand.list@...il.com>,
        boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com, jgross@...e.com,
        sstabellini@...nel.org, Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>,
        Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@...sung.com>,
        Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>, grant.likely@....com,
        xypron.glpk@....de, Thierry Reding <treding@...dia.com>,
        mingo@...nel.org, bauerman@...ux.ibm.com, peterz@...radead.org,
        Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Saravana Kannan <saravanak@...gle.com>,
        rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com, heikki.krogerus@...ux.intel.com,
        Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@...ux.intel.com>,
        rdunlap@...radead.org, dan.j.williams@...el.com,
        Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@...libre.com>,
        linux-devicetree <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
        lkml <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org, xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org,
        Tomasz Figa <tfiga@...omium.org>,
        Nicolas Boichat <drinkcat@...omium.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH v3 5/6] dt-bindings: of: Add restricted DMA pool

On Fri, Jan 8, 2021 at 2:15 AM Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com> wrote:
>
> On 1/7/21 10:00 AM, Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk wrote:
> >>>
> >>>
> >>>  - Nothing stops the physical device from bypassing the SWIOTLB buffer.
> >>>    That is if an errant device screwed up the length or DMA address, the
> >>>    SWIOTLB would gladly do what the device told it do?
> >>
> >> So the system needs to provide a way to lock down the memory access, e.g. MPU.
> >
> > OK! Would it be prudent to have this in the description above perhaps?
>
> Yes this is something that must be documented as a requirement for the
> restricted DMA pool users, otherwise attempting to do restricted DMA
> pool is no different than say, using a device private CMA region.
> Without the enforcement, this is just a best effort.

Will add in the next version.

> --
> Florian

Powered by blists - more mailing lists