lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 12 Jan 2021 13:52:17 +0000
From:   Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>
To:     matthias.bgg@...nel.org
Cc:     Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>,
        Hsin-Hsiung Wang <hsin-hsiung.wang@...iatek.com>,
        Axel Lin <axel.lin@...ics.com>,
        Chen Zhong <chen.zhong@...iatek.com>,
        Gene Chen <gene_chen@...htek.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        Matti Vaittinen <matti.vaittinen@...rohmeurope.com>,
        Matthias Brugger <mbrugger@...e.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 1/2] regulator: mt6358: Add OF match table

On Tue, Jan 12, 2021 at 11:06:57AM +0100, matthias.bgg@...nel.org wrote:

> The binding documentation mentions that a compatible is required for the
> MT6358 device node. But the driver does not provide a OF match table.
> This way auto-loading is broken as the MFD driver that registers the
> device has a .of_compatible set which makes the platform .uevent
> callback report a OF modalias, but that's not in the module.

As previously discussed it'd be better to fix the binding document to
deprecate the requirement for the compatible and remove the usage from
the MFD.

Download attachment "signature.asc" of type "application/pgp-signature" (489 bytes)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists