lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 14 Jan 2021 09:01:31 -0600
From:   Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>
To:     Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>
Cc:     Pantelis Antoniou <pantelis.antoniou@...sulko.com>,
        Frank Rowand <frowand.list@...il.com>,
        devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kbuild mailing list <linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org>,
        Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>,
        Bill Mills <bill.mills@...aro.org>,
        Anmar Oueja <anmar.oueja@...aro.org>,
        Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@...nel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] of: unittest: Statically apply overlays using fdtoverlay

On Wed, Jan 13, 2021 at 11:03 PM Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org> wrote:
>
> On 11-01-21, 09:46, Rob Herring wrote:
> > On Fri, Jan 8, 2021 at 2:41 AM Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org> wrote:
> > >
> > > Now that fdtoverlay is part of the kernel build, start using it to test
> > > the unitest overlays we have by applying them statically.
> >
> > Nice idea.
> >
> > > The file overlay_base.dtb have symbols of its own and we need to apply
> > > overlay.dtb to overlay_base.dtb alone first to make it work, which gives
> > > us intermediate-overlay.dtb file.
> >
> > Okay? If restructuring things helps we should do that. Frank?
>
> Frank, do we want to do something about it ? Maybe make overlay_base.dts an dtsi
> and include it from testcases.dts like the other ones ?

No, because overlay_base.dts is an overlay dt. I think we need an
empty, minimal base.dtb to apply overlay_base.dtbo to.

And then fdtoverlay needs a fix to apply overlays to the root node?

Rob

Powered by blists - more mailing lists