lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 1 Feb 2021 16:14:31 -0800
From:   Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>
To:     Ben Widawsky <ben.widawsky@...el.com>
Cc:     David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>, linux-cxl@...r.kernel.org,
        Linux ACPI <linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-nvdimm <linux-nvdimm@...ts.01.org>,
        Linux PCI <linux-pci@...r.kernel.org>,
        Bjorn Helgaas <helgaas@...nel.org>,
        Chris Browy <cbrowy@...ry-design.com>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
        Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@...el.com>,
        Jon Masters <jcm@...masters.org>,
        Jonathan Cameron <Jonathan.Cameron@...wei.com>,
        Rafael Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>,
        Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
        Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@...el.com>,
        daniel.lll@...baba-inc.com,
        "John Groves (jgroves)" <jgroves@...ron.com>,
        "Kelley, Sean V" <sean.v.kelley@...el.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 03/14] cxl/mem: Find device capabilities

On Mon, Feb 1, 2021 at 4:11 PM Ben Widawsky <ben.widawsky@...el.com> wrote:
>
> On 21-02-01 15:58:09, David Rientjes wrote:
> > On Mon, 1 Feb 2021, Ben Widawsky wrote:
> >
> > > > I haven't seen the update to 8.2.8.4.5 to know yet :)
> > > >
> > > > You make a good point of at least being able to interact with the driver.
> > > > I think you could argue that if the driver binds, then the payload size is
> > > > accepted, in which case it would be strange to get an EINVAL when using
> > > > the ioctl with anything >1MB.
> > > >
> > > > Concern was that if we mask off the reserved bits from the command
> > > > register that we could be masking part of the payload size that is being
> > > > passed if the accepted max is >1MB.  Idea was to avoid any possibility of
> > > > this inconsistency.  If this is being checked for ioctl, seems like it's
> > > > checking reserved bits.
> > > >
> > > > But maybe I should just wait for the spec update.
> > >
> > > Well, I wouldn't hold your breath (it would be an errata in this case anyway).
> > > My preference would be to just allow allow mailbox payload size to be 2^31 and
> > > not deal with this.
> > >
> > > My question was how strongly do you feel it's an error that should prevent
> > > binding.
> > >
> >
> > I don't have an objection to binding, but doesn't this require that the
> > check in cxl_validate_cmd_from_user() guarantees send_cmd->size_in cannot
> > be greater than 1MB?
>
> You're correct. I'd need to add:
> cxlm->mbox.payload_size =
>     min_t(size_t, 1 << CXL_GET_FIELD(cap, CXLDEV_MB_CAP_PAYLOAD_SIZE), 1<<20)

nit, use the existing SZ_1M define.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists