lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 27 Feb 2021 15:54:38 +0900
From:   Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@...nel.org>
To:     Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@...il.com>
Cc:     Linux Kbuild mailing list <linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org>,
        Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Clang-Built-Linux ML <clang-built-linux@...glegroups.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2] kbuild: fix UNUSED_KSYMS_WHITELIST for Clang LTO

On Fri, Feb 26, 2021 at 6:26 PM Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@...il.com> wrote:
>
> On Fri, Feb 26, 2021 at 7:26 AM Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@...nel.org> wrote:
> >
> > Commit fbe078d397b4 ("kbuild: lto: add a default list of used symbols")
> > does not work as expected if the .config file has already specified
> > CONFIG_UNUSED_KSYMS_WHITELIST="my/own/white/list" before enabling
> > CONFIG_LTO_CLANG.
> >
> > So, the user-supplied whitelist and LTO-specific white list must be
> > independent of each other.
> >
> > I refactored the shell script so CONFIG_MODVERSIONS and CONFIG_CLANG_LTO
> > handle whitelists in the same way.
> >
> > Fixes: fbe078d397b4 ("kbuild: lto: add a default list of used symbols")
> > Signed-off-by: Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@...nel.org>
> > ---
> >
> > Changes in v2:
> >   - Rebase on top of Arnd's patch:
> >     https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20210225143456.3829513-1-arnd@kernel.org/
> >
> >  init/Kconfig                    |  1 -
> >  scripts/gen_autoksyms.sh        | 35 ++++++++++++++++++++++++---------
> >  scripts/lto-used-symbollist.txt |  6 ------
>
> People who want to use their own "white-listed" (allow-listed)
> symbollist-file can do that via
> CONFIG_UNUSED_KSYMS_WHITELIST="my/own/white/list".
> Correct?
>
> Why do you delete the default "scripts/lto-used-symbollist.txt" file
> and remove the default in the appropriate Kconfig for people who want
> to enable Clang-(Thin)LTO?
> These people should now use
> CONFIG_UNUSED_KSYMS_WHITELIST="scripts/lto-used-symbollist.txt"?
> But again - the file was deleted with your patch.
> Do I miss something?

I think so.

I moved those symbols to scripts/gen_autoksyms.sh





-- 
Best Regards
Masahiro Yamada

Powered by blists - more mailing lists