lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 22 Jul 2021 13:57:22 -0700
From:   Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@...el.com>
To:     x86@...nel.org, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-doc@...r.kernel.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
        linux-arch@...r.kernel.org, linux-api@...r.kernel.org,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Balbir Singh <bsingharora@...il.com>,
        Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@...il.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Eugene Syromiatnikov <esyr@...hat.com>,
        Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>,
        "H.J. Lu" <hjl.tools@...il.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@...cle.com>,
        Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@...il.com>,
        Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
        "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>,
        Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@....com>,
        Weijiang Yang <weijiang.yang@...el.com>,
        Pengfei Xu <pengfei.xu@...el.com>,
        Haitao Huang <haitao.huang@...el.com>,
        Rick P Edgecombe <rick.p.edgecombe@...el.com>
Cc:     Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@...el.com>
Subject: [PATCH v28 09/10] x86/vdso/32: Add ENDBR to __kernel_vsyscall entry point

From: "H.J. Lu" <hjl.tools@...il.com>

ENDBR is a special new instruction for the Indirect Branch Tracking (IBT)
component of CET.  IBT prevents attacks by ensuring that (most) indirect
branches and function calls may only land at ENDBR instructions.  Branches
that don't follow the rules will result in control flow (#CF) exceptions.

ENDBR is a noop when IBT is unsupported or disabled.  Most ENDBR
instructions are inserted automatically by the compiler, but branch
targets written in assembly must have ENDBR added manually.

Add that to __kernel_vsyscall entry point.

Signed-off-by: H.J. Lu <hjl.tools@...il.com>
Signed-off-by: Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@...el.com>
Reviewed-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>
---
 arch/x86/entry/vdso/vdso32/system_call.S | 2 ++
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/entry/vdso/vdso32/system_call.S b/arch/x86/entry/vdso/vdso32/system_call.S
index 6ddd7a937b3e..d321c2ded33a 100644
--- a/arch/x86/entry/vdso/vdso32/system_call.S
+++ b/arch/x86/entry/vdso/vdso32/system_call.S
@@ -7,6 +7,7 @@
 #include <asm/dwarf2.h>
 #include <asm/cpufeatures.h>
 #include <asm/alternative.h>
+#include <asm/vdso.h>
 
 	.text
 	.globl __kernel_vsyscall
@@ -14,6 +15,7 @@
 	ALIGN
 __kernel_vsyscall:
 	CFI_STARTPROC
+	ENDBR32
 	/*
 	 * Reshuffle regs so that all of any of the entry instructions
 	 * will preserve enough state.
-- 
2.21.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists