lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 10 Aug 2021 07:41:44 -0700
From:   Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>
To:     "Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@...hat.com>,
        Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>
Cc:     Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
        Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Ben Segall <bsegall@...gle.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>,
        Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>,
        Srinivas Pandruvada <srinivas.pandruvada@...ux.intel.com>,
        Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Aubrey Li <aubrey.li@...ux.intel.com>,
        "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>,
        Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri@...el.com>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>,
        Quentin Perret <qperret@...gle.com>,
        "Joel Fernandes (Google)" <joel@...lfernandes.org>,
        linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>,
        Aubrey Li <aubrey.li@...el.com>,
        Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@...hat.com>
Subject: [PATCH v4 5/6] sched/fair: Carve out logic to mark a group for asymmetric packing

Create a separate function, sched_asym(). A subsequent changeset will
introduce logic to deal with SMT in conjunction with asmymmetric
packing. Such logic will need the statistics of the scheduling
group provided as argument. Update them before calling sched_asym().

Cc: Aubrey Li <aubrey.li@...el.com>
Cc: Ben Segall <bsegall@...gle.com>
Cc: Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@...hat.com>
Cc: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>
Cc: Quentin Perret <qperret@...gle.com>
Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>
Cc: Srinivas Pandruvada <srinivas.pandruvada@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@...ux.intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Joel Fernandes (Google) <joel@...lfernandes.org>
Reviewed-by: Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>
Co-developed-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@...radead.org>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@...radead.org>
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>
---
Changes since v3:
  * Remove a redundant check for the local group in sched_asym().
    (Dietmar)
  * Reworded commit message for clarity. (Len)

Changes since v2:
  * Introduced this patch.

Changes since v1:
  * N/A
---
 kernel/sched/fair.c | 20 +++++++++++++-------
 1 file changed, 13 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/fair.c b/kernel/sched/fair.c
index ae3d2bc59d8d..dd411cefb63f 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/fair.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/fair.c
@@ -8531,6 +8531,13 @@ group_type group_classify(unsigned int imbalance_pct,
 	return group_has_spare;
 }
 
+static inline bool
+sched_asym(struct lb_env *env, struct sd_lb_stats *sds,  struct sg_lb_stats *sgs,
+	   struct sched_group *group)
+{
+	return sched_asym_prefer(env->dst_cpu, group->asym_prefer_cpu);
+}
+
 /**
  * update_sg_lb_stats - Update sched_group's statistics for load balancing.
  * @env: The load balancing environment.
@@ -8591,18 +8598,17 @@ static inline void update_sg_lb_stats(struct lb_env *env,
 		}
 	}
 
+	sgs->group_capacity = group->sgc->capacity;
+
+	sgs->group_weight = group->group_weight;
+
 	/* Check if dst CPU is idle and preferred to this group */
 	if (!local_group && env->sd->flags & SD_ASYM_PACKING &&
-	    env->idle != CPU_NOT_IDLE &&
-	    sgs->sum_h_nr_running &&
-	    sched_asym_prefer(env->dst_cpu, group->asym_prefer_cpu)) {
+	    env->idle != CPU_NOT_IDLE && sgs->sum_h_nr_running &&
+	    sched_asym(env, sds, sgs, group)) {
 		sgs->group_asym_packing = 1;
 	}
 
-	sgs->group_capacity = group->sgc->capacity;
-
-	sgs->group_weight = group->group_weight;
-
 	sgs->group_type = group_classify(env->sd->imbalance_pct, group, sgs);
 
 	/* Computing avg_load makes sense only when group is overloaded */
-- 
2.17.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists