lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue,  5 Oct 2021 14:14:29 +0200
From:   David Hildenbrand <david@...hat.com>
To:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     David Hildenbrand <david@...hat.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@...nel.org>,
        "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@...hat.com>,
        Jason Wang <jasowang@...hat.com>,
        Dave Young <dyoung@...hat.com>, Baoquan He <bhe@...hat.com>,
        Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@...hat.com>,
        Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
        Oscar Salvador <osalvador@...e.de>,
        Mike Rapoport <rppt@...nel.org>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>, x86@...nel.org,
        xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org,
        virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
        kexec@...ts.infradead.org, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-mm@...ck.org
Subject: [PATCH v2 8/9] virtio-mem: factor out hotplug specifics from virtio_mem_remove() into virtio_mem_deinit_hotplug()

Let's prepare for a new virtio-mem kdump mode in which we don't actually
hot(un)plug any memory but only observe the state of device blocks.

Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@...hat.com>
---
 drivers/virtio/virtio_mem.c | 13 ++++++++++---
 1 file changed, 10 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/virtio/virtio_mem.c b/drivers/virtio/virtio_mem.c
index 1be3ee7f684d..76d8aef3cfd2 100644
--- a/drivers/virtio/virtio_mem.c
+++ b/drivers/virtio/virtio_mem.c
@@ -2667,9 +2667,8 @@ static int virtio_mem_probe(struct virtio_device *vdev)
 	return rc;
 }
 
-static void virtio_mem_remove(struct virtio_device *vdev)
+static void virtio_mem_deinit_hotplug(struct virtio_mem *vm)
 {
-	struct virtio_mem *vm = vdev->priv;
 	unsigned long mb_id;
 	int rc;
 
@@ -2716,7 +2715,8 @@ static void virtio_mem_remove(struct virtio_device *vdev)
 	 * away. Warn at least.
 	 */
 	if (virtio_mem_has_memory_added(vm)) {
-		dev_warn(&vdev->dev, "device still has system memory added\n");
+		dev_warn(&vm->vdev->dev,
+			 "device still has system memory added\n");
 	} else {
 		virtio_mem_delete_resource(vm);
 		kfree_const(vm->resource_name);
@@ -2730,6 +2730,13 @@ static void virtio_mem_remove(struct virtio_device *vdev)
 	} else {
 		vfree(vm->bbm.bb_states);
 	}
+}
+
+static void virtio_mem_remove(struct virtio_device *vdev)
+{
+	struct virtio_mem *vm = vdev->priv;
+
+	virtio_mem_deinit_hotplug(vm);
 
 	/* reset the device and cleanup the queues */
 	vdev->config->reset(vdev);
-- 
2.31.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists