lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 7 Oct 2021 02:46:16 +0000
From:   "Liao, Bard" <bard.liao@...el.com>
To:     Pierre-Louis Bossart <pierre-louis.bossart@...ux.intel.com>,
        Hans de Goede <hdegoede@...hat.com>,
        "Lu, Brent" <brent.lu@...el.com>,
        "alsa-devel@...a-project.org" <alsa-devel@...a-project.org>,
        Bard liao <yung-chuan.liao@...ux.intel.com>
CC:     Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>,
        Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>,
        Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.com>,
        "Rojewski, Cezary" <cezary.rojewski@...el.com>,
        Jie Yang <yang.jie@...ux.intel.com>,
        "Kai Vehmanen" <kai.vehmanen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Guennadi Liakhovetski <guennadi.liakhovetski@...ux.intel.com>,
        "Zhi, Yong" <yong.zhi@...el.com>,
        "Gopal, Vamshi Krishna" <vamshi.krishna.gopal@...el.com>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "Wang, Rander" <rander.wang@...el.com>,
        Malik_Hsu <malik_hsu@...tron.corp-partner.google.com>,
        "Yang, Libin" <libin.yang@...el.com>,
        Charles Keepax <ckeepax@...nsource.cirrus.com>,
        "Paul Olaru" <paul.olaru@....nxp.com>,
        Curtis Malainey <cujomalainey@...omium.org>,
        "Chiang, Mac" <mac.chiang@...el.com>,
        "Song, Gongjun" <gongjun.song@...el.com>
Subject: RE: [PATCH 3/3] ASoC: Intel: sof_rt5682: use id_alt to enumerate
 rt5682s



> -----Original Message-----
> From: Pierre-Louis Bossart <pierre-louis.bossart@...ux.intel.com>
> Sent: Thursday, October 7, 2021 1:25 AM
> To: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@...hat.com>; Lu, Brent
> <brent.lu@...el.com>; alsa-devel@...a-project.org; Bard liao <yung-
> chuan.liao@...ux.intel.com>
> Cc: Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>; Mark Brown
> <broonie@...nel.org>; Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>; Takashi Iwai
> <tiwai@...e.com>; Rojewski, Cezary <cezary.rojewski@...el.com>; Jie Yang
> <yang.jie@...ux.intel.com>; Kai Vehmanen
> <kai.vehmanen@...ux.intel.com>; Guennadi Liakhovetski
> <guennadi.liakhovetski@...ux.intel.com>; Zhi, Yong <yong.zhi@...el.com>;
> Gopal, Vamshi Krishna <vamshi.krishna.gopal@...el.com>; linux-
> kernel@...r.kernel.org; Wang, Rander <rander.wang@...el.com>; Liao,
> Bard <bard.liao@...el.com>; Malik_Hsu <malik_hsu@...tron.corp-
> partner.google.com>; Yang, Libin <libin.yang@...el.com>; Charles Keepax
> <ckeepax@...nsource.cirrus.com>; Paul Olaru <paul.olaru@....nxp.com>;
> Curtis Malainey <cujomalainey@...omium.org>; Chiang, Mac
> <mac.chiang@...el.com>; Song, Gongjun <gongjun.song@...el.com>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/3] ASoC: Intel: sof_rt5682: use id_alt to enumerate
> rt5682s
> 
> 
> >> @@ -196,6 +201,7 @@ struct snd_soc_acpi_mach
> snd_soc_acpi_intel_baytrail_machines[] = {
> >>  	},
> >>  	{
> >>  		.id = "10EC5682",
> >> +		.id_alt = &rt5682s_hp,
> >>  		.drv_name = "sof_rt5682",
> >>  		.sof_fw_filename = "sof-byt.ri",
> >>  		.sof_tplg_filename = "sof-byt-rt5682.tplg",
> >
> > So this is only useful if there actually are any BYT devices using the
> "RTL5682"
> > ACPI HID, the 100+ BYT/CHT DSDTs which I've gather over time say there
> aren't any.
> >
> > Actually there also aren't any using the non alt "10EC5682" ACPI HID either...
> >
> > Bard Liao, you added this in commit f70abd75b7c6 ("ASoC: Intel: add
> > sof-rt5682 machine driver") but I wonder how useful this is. I guess it may
> be available as (and tested on?) some dev-kit.
> >
> > But I don't think there us any hardware out there in the wild using this ?
> 
> In the past we used this configuration for SOF CI tests with the MinnowBoard
> + an RT5682 eval board. We gradually fried most boards and no longer check
> this capability for each SOF PR.
> 
> So I would agree we can avoid changing anything for BYT/CHT and possibly
> APL, it'd be an untested configuration.
> 
> in other words, let's add this compatible/alt_id for platforms where we know
> it'll be used.

Agree with Pierre. "RTL5682" is a new codec which is different from
"10EC5682" and not tested on old platforms.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists