lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sun, 10 Oct 2021 17:43:01 +0200
From:   Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@...il.com>
To:     Dan Li <ashimida@...ux.alibaba.com>
Cc:     Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@...nel.org>,
        Michal Marek <michal.lkml@...kovi.net>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>, frederic@...nel.org,
        Mike Rapoport <rppt@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, yifeifz2@...inois.edu,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>, andreyknvl@...il.com,
        Colin King <colin.king@...onical.com>,
        Miguel Ojeda <ojeda@...nel.org>,
        Luc Van Oostenryck <luc.vanoostenryck@...il.com>,
        Marco Elver <elver@...gle.com>,
        Arvind Sankar <nivedita@...m.mit.edu>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@...nel.org>,
        Linux Kbuild mailing list <linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-kernel <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org,
        clang-built-linux <clang-built-linux@...glegroups.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] [PATCH V2]ARM64: SCS: Add gcc plugin to support Shadow
 Call Stack

On Sun, Oct 10, 2021 at 5:16 PM Dan Li <ashimida@...ux.alibaba.com> wrote:
>
> -         This option enables Clang's Shadow Call Stack, which uses a
> -         shadow stack to protect function return addresses from being
> -         overwritten by an attacker. More information can be found in
> -         Clang's documentation:
> +         This option enables Clang/GCC plugin's Shadow Call Stack, which
> +         uses a shadow stack to protect function return addresses from
> +         being overwritten by an attacker. More information can be found
> +         in Clang's documentation:

Perhaps it could be worded in a better way? It sounds like it is a
custom plugin for Clang as well, e.g.:

    This option enables Shadow Call Stack (in the case of GCC, as a plugin),

Cheers,
Miguel

Powered by blists - more mailing lists