lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 14 Oct 2021 23:39:07 -0400
From:   Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>
To:     Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>
Cc:     王贇 <yun.wang@...ux.alibaba.com>,
        Guo Ren <guoren@...nel.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        "James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@...senpartnership.com>,
        Helge Deller <deller@....de>,
        Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
        Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>,
        Paul Mackerras <paulus@...ba.org>,
        Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@...ive.com>,
        Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@...belt.com>,
        Albert Ou <aou@...s.berkeley.edu>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>, x86@...nel.org,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Jiri Kosina <jikos@...nel.org>,
        Miroslav Benes <mbenes@...e.cz>,
        Joe Lawrence <joe.lawrence@...hat.com>,
        Colin Ian King <colin.king@...onical.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        "Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
        Jisheng Zhang <jszhang@...nel.org>, linux-csky@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-parisc@...r.kernel.org,
        linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org, linux-riscv@...ts.infradead.org,
        live-patching@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 1/2] ftrace: disable preemption between
 ftrace_test_recursion_trylock/unlock()

On Thu, 14 Oct 2021 17:14:07 +0200
Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com> wrote:

>   /**
>    * ftrace_test_recursion_trylock - tests for recursion in same context
>    *
>    * Use this for ftrace callbacks. This will detect if the function
>    * tracing recursed in the same context (normal vs interrupt),
>    *
>    * Returns: -1 if a recursion happened.
> -  *           >= 0 if no recursion
> +  *           >= 0 if no recursion (success)
> +  *
> +  * Disables the preemption on success. It is just for a convenience.
> +  * Current users needed to disable the preemtion for some reasons.
>    */

I started replying to this explaining the difference between bit not
zero and a bit zero, and I think I found a design flaw that can allow
unwanted recursion.

It's late and I'm about to go to bed, but I may have a new patch to fix
this before this gets added, as the fix will conflict with this patch,
and the fix will likely need to go to stable.

Stay tuned.

-- Steve

Powered by blists - more mailing lists