lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 15 Oct 2021 20:40:52 +0300
From:   Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>
To:     Eugene Shalygin <eugene.shalygin@...il.com>
Cc:     Denis Pauk <pauk.denis@...il.com>,
        Platform Driver <platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org>,
        thomas@...ssschuh.net, Tor Vic <torvic9@...lbox.org>,
        Oleksandr Natalenko <oleksandr@...alenko.name>,
        kernel test robot <lkp@...el.com>,
        Jean Delvare <jdelvare@...e.com>,
        Guenter Roeck <linux@...ck-us.net>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, linux-hwmon@...r.kernel.org,
        Linux Documentation List <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v7 1/2] hwmon: (asus_wmi_ec_sensors) Support B550 Asus WMI.

On Fri, Oct 15, 2021 at 8:36 PM Andy Shevchenko
<andy.shevchenko@...il.com> wrote:
> On Fri, Oct 15, 2021 at 5:26 PM Eugene Shalygin
> <eugene.shalygin@...il.com> wrote:

...

> > bin2hex() can't output UTF-16LE characters, can it? It would need an
> > intermediate buffer and a call to convert ASCII (UTF-8) to UTF-16.
>
> I didn't get it. If there is a strong endianess expected the parameter
> should be __le16 or __be16, moreover it seems it missed the const
> qualifier. Any preparatory stuff should be done in the
> asus_wmi_ec_make_block_read_query() which prepares the input buffer,
> doesn't it?

I'm expecting a confusion here, so let me clarify:
1) in the current code the __le16/__be16 is missed, BUT
2) if you are going to prepare CPU endian buffer in the caller, the
u16 is correct, only const should be added.

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko

Powered by blists - more mailing lists