lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sun, 24 Oct 2021 18:21:56 -0400
From:   Jesse Taube <mr.bossman075@...il.com>
To:     Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>
Cc:     NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@....com>,
        Michael Turquette <mturquette@...libre.com>,
        Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...nel.org>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>,
        Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>,
        Sascha Hauer <kernel@...gutronix.de>,
        Fabio Estevam <festevam@...il.com>,
        Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>,
        Dong Aisheng <aisheng.dong@....com>,
        Stefan Agner <stefan@...er.ch>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        gregkh <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net>, SoC Team <soc@...nel.org>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Abel Vesa <abel.vesa@....com>,
        Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>,
        Jiri Slaby <jirislaby@...nel.org>,
        giulio.benetti@...ettiengineering.com,
        Nobuhiro Iwamatsu <nobuhiro1.iwamatsu@...hiba.co.jp>,
        Leonard Crestez <leonard.crestez@....com>,
        b20788@...escale.com, Andy Duan <fugang.duan@....com>,
        linux-clk <linux-clk@...r.kernel.org>,
        DTML <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-mmc <linux-mmc@...r.kernel.org>,
        "open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org>,
        "open list:SERIAL DRIVERS" <linux-serial@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 00/13] This patchset aims to add initial support for the
 i.MXRT10xx family

Hello Arnd,

Giulio is in CC

On 10/24/21 3:32 PM, Arnd Bergmann wrote:
> On Sun, Oct 24, 2021 at 5:40 PM Jesse Taube <mr.bossman075@...il.com> wrote:
>>
>> Add initial support for the i.MXRT10xx SoC family
>> starting with the i.IMXRT1050 SoC.
>> This patchset contains:
>> - i.MXRT10xx family infrastructure
>> - i.MXRT1050 pinctrl driver adaption
>> - i.MXRT1050 clock driver adaption
>> - i.MXRT1050 sd-card driver adaption
>> - i.MXRT1050 uart driver adaption
>> - i.MXRT1050-evk basic support
> 
> Can you expand the description a bit more so it makes sense as a changelog
> text for the merge commit? It's fairly rare these days that we add support for a
> MMU-less platform, so it would be good if the introductory text answers
> questions like:
> 
> - what is this platform used for, and what is the purpose of running Linux on it
>   in place of the usual RTOS variants?
> 
> - are you doing this just for fun, or are there any commercial use cases?

The purpose of this is for learning and fun, as far as we know there are no
commercial use cases, but we hope there will be.

> - what are the minimum and maximum memory configurations this has
>   been tested with?

We both have only tested with 32MB of ram on i.MXRT1050/60-evk.

> - what user space are you testing with: any particular distro that supports
>   this platform, and do you run elf-fdpic or flat binaries.

We are using Buildroot[1] and that only uses flat binaries.
i.MXRT1050/20 have already been up-streamed to U-Boot[2].

> - are you planning to also support the newer i.MXRT11xx or
>   Cortex-R based designs like the S32S?

We plan to support the i.MXRT11xx, but unsure about the S32x, it depends 
on the interest. 

> 
>        Arnd
>
[1]: https://github.com/Mr-Bossman/imxrt-linux-buildroot.git
[2]: https://source.denx.de/u-boot/u-boot/-/blob/master/configs/imxrt1050-evk_defconfig

Thank you, 
Jesse Taube.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists