lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 27 Oct 2021 18:33:22 -0700
From:   Pawan Gupta <pawan.kumar.gupta@...ux.intel.com>
To:     Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>
Cc:     x86@...nel.org, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@...nel.org>,
        "Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>,
        Colin Ian King <colin.king@...onical.com>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@...nel.org>,
        Mike Rapoport <rppt@...nel.org>,
        YiFei Zhu <yifeifz2@...inois.edu>,
        "Steven Rostedt (VMware)" <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>,
        Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...il.com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Wang Kefeng <wangkefeng.wang@...wei.com>,
        Uwe Kleine-K├Ânig 
        <u.kleine-koenig@...gutronix.de>,
        Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
        Pawan Gupta <pawan.kumar.gupta@...ux.intel.com>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org
Subject: [PATCH v2 1/2] arch/Kconfig: Make CONFIG_CPU_SPECTRE available for
 all architectures

Borrow CONFIG_CPU_SPECTRE from ARM to be available for all
architectures. This will help in configuration of features that depend
on CPU being affected by spectre class of vulnerabilities.

Signed-off-by: Pawan Gupta <pawan.kumar.gupta@...ux.intel.com>
---
 arch/Kconfig        | 3 +++
 arch/arm/mm/Kconfig | 3 ---
 arch/x86/Kconfig    | 1 +
 3 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/Kconfig b/arch/Kconfig
index 8df1c7102643..6aa856d51cb7 100644
--- a/arch/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/Kconfig
@@ -1091,6 +1091,9 @@ config ARCH_SUPPORTS_RT
 config CPU_NO_EFFICIENT_FFS
 	def_bool n
 
+config CPU_SPECTRE
+	bool
+
 config HAVE_ARCH_VMAP_STACK
 	def_bool n
 	help
diff --git a/arch/arm/mm/Kconfig b/arch/arm/mm/Kconfig
index 8355c3895894..44551465fd03 100644
--- a/arch/arm/mm/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/arm/mm/Kconfig
@@ -828,9 +828,6 @@ config CPU_BPREDICT_DISABLE
 	help
 	  Say Y here to disable branch prediction.  If unsure, say N.
 
-config CPU_SPECTRE
-	bool
-
 config HARDEN_BRANCH_PREDICTOR
 	bool "Harden the branch predictor against aliasing attacks" if EXPERT
 	depends on CPU_SPECTRE
diff --git a/arch/x86/Kconfig b/arch/x86/Kconfig
index d9830e7e1060..769739da67c6 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -124,6 +124,7 @@ config X86
 	select CLKEVT_I8253
 	select CLOCKSOURCE_VALIDATE_LAST_CYCLE
 	select CLOCKSOURCE_WATCHDOG
+	select CPU_SPECTRE
 	select DCACHE_WORD_ACCESS
 	select EDAC_ATOMIC_SCRUB
 	select EDAC_SUPPORT
-- 
2.31.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists