lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 19 Jan 2022 20:51:29 +0200
From:   Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@...ux.intel.com>
To:     Uwe Kleine-König 
        <u.kleine-koenig@...gutronix.de>
Cc:     Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>, Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>,
        Vignesh Raghavendra <vigneshr@...com>,
        KVM list <kvm@...r.kernel.org>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>, linux-iio@...r.kernel.org,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        Amit Kucheria <amitk@...nel.org>,
        ALSA Development Mailing List <alsa-devel@...a-project.org>,
        Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>,
        Guenter Roeck <groeck@...omium.org>,
        Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>,
        MTD Maling List <linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Linux I2C <linux-i2c@...r.kernel.org>,
        "open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org>,
        Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>,
        linux-phy@...ts.infradead.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-spi <linux-spi@...r.kernel.org>,
        Jiri Slaby <jirislaby@...nel.org>,
        Khuong Dinh <khuong@...amperecomputing.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Matthias Schiffer <matthias.schiffer@...tq-group.com>,
        Kamal Dasu <kdasu.kdev@...il.com>,
        Lee Jones <lee.jones@...aro.org>,
        Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@...ev.pl>,
        Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>,
        Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@...com>,
        Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@...ux-m68k.org>,
        "open list:SERIAL DRIVERS" <linux-serial@...r.kernel.org>,
        bcm-kernel-feedback-list <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com>,
        Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@...el.com>,
        platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org,
        Linux PWM List <linux-pwm@...r.kernel.org>,
        Robert Richter <rric@...nel.org>,
        Saravanan Sekar <sravanhome@...il.com>,
        Corey Minyard <minyard@....org>,
        Linux PM list <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>,
        Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>,
        John Garry <john.garry@...wei.com>,
        Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.com>,
        Peter Korsgaard <peter@...sgaard.com>,
        William Breathitt Gray <vilhelm.gray@...il.com>,
        Mark Gross <markgross@...nel.org>,
        Hans de Goede <hdegoede@...hat.com>,
        Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@...hat.com>,
        Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        openipmi-developer@...ts.sourceforge.net,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>,
        Benson Leung <bleung@...omium.org>,
        Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@...gutronix.de>,
        Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        linux-edac@...r.kernel.org, Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>,
        Richard Weinberger <richard@....at>,
        Mun Yew Tham <mun.yew.tham@...el.com>,
        Eric Auger <eric.auger@...hat.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Yoshihiro Shimoda <yoshihiro.shimoda.uh@...esas.com>,
        Cornelia Huck <cohuck@...hat.com>,
        Linux MMC List <linux-mmc@...r.kernel.org>,
        Joakim Zhang <qiangqing.zhang@....com>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux-Renesas <linux-renesas-soc@...r.kernel.org>,
        Sergey Shtylyov <s.shtylyov@....ru>,
        Vinod Koul <vkoul@...nel.org>,
        James Morse <james.morse@....com>,
        Zha Qipeng <qipeng.zha@...el.com>,
        Sebastian Reichel <sre@...nel.org>,
        Niklas Söderlund 
        <niklas.soderlund@...natech.se>,
        linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org,
        Brian Norris <computersforpeace@...il.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] driver core: platform: Rename
 platform_get_irq_optional() to platform_get_irq_silent()

On Sat, Jan 15, 2022 at 04:45:39PM +0100, Uwe Kleine-König wrote:
> On Fri, Jan 14, 2022 at 03:04:38PM +0200, Andy Shevchenko wrote:
> > On Thu, Jan 13, 2022 at 08:43:58PM +0100, Uwe Kleine-König wrote:
> > > > It'd certainly be good to name anything that doesn't correspond to one
> > > > of the existing semantics for the API (!) something different rather
> > > > than adding yet another potentially overloaded meaning.
> > > 
> > > It seems we're (at least) three who agree about this. Here is a patch
> > > fixing the name.
> > 
> > And similar number of people are on the other side.
> 
> If someone already opposed to the renaming (and not only the name) I
> must have missed that.
> 
> So you think it's a good idea to keep the name
> platform_get_irq_optional() despite the "not found" value returned by it
> isn't usable as if it were a normal irq number?

I meant that on the other side people who are in favour of Sergey's patch.
Since that I commented already that I opposed the renaming being a standalone
change.

Do you agree that we have several issues with platform_get_irq*() APIs?

1. The unfortunate naming
2. The vIRQ0 handling: a) WARN() followed by b) returned value 0
3. The specific cookie for "IRQ not found, while no error happened" case


-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko


Powered by blists - more mailing lists