lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sun, 19 Mar 2023 20:18:07 +0100
From:   Christian Marangi <ansuelsmth@...il.com>
To:     Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@...il.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@...aro.org>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Gregory Clement <gregory.clement@...tlin.com>,
        Sebastian Hesselbarth <sebastian.hesselbarth@...il.com>,
        Andy Gross <agross@...nel.org>,
        Bjorn Andersson <andersson@...nel.org>,
        Konrad Dybcio <konrad.dybcio@...aro.org>,
        Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>, Lee Jones <lee@...nel.org>,
        Christian Marangi <ansuelsmth@...il.com>,
        John Crispin <john@...ozen.org>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        devicetree@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org, linux-leds@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [net-next PATCH v5 08/15] net: phy: phy_device: Call into the PHY driver to set LED blinking

From: Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>

Linux LEDs can be requested to perform hardware accelerated
blinking. Pass this to the PHY driver, if it implements the op.

Signed-off-by: Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
Signed-off-by: Christian Marangi <ansuelsmth@...il.com>
---
 drivers/net/phy/phy_device.c | 18 ++++++++++++++++++
 include/linux/phy.h          |  8 ++++++++
 2 files changed, 26 insertions(+)

diff --git a/drivers/net/phy/phy_device.c b/drivers/net/phy/phy_device.c
index 141d63ef3897..79a52dc3c50a 100644
--- a/drivers/net/phy/phy_device.c
+++ b/drivers/net/phy/phy_device.c
@@ -3005,6 +3005,22 @@ static int phy_led_set_brightness(struct led_classdev *led_cdev,
 	return err;
 }
 
+static int phy_led_blink_set(struct led_classdev *led_cdev,
+			     unsigned long *delay_on,
+			     unsigned long *delay_off)
+{
+	struct phy_led *phyled = to_phy_led(led_cdev);
+	struct phy_device *phydev = phyled->phydev;
+	int err;
+
+	mutex_lock(&phydev->lock);
+	err = phydev->drv->led_blink_set(phydev, phyled->index,
+					 delay_on, delay_off);
+	mutex_unlock(&phydev->lock);
+
+	return err;
+}
+
 static int of_phy_led(struct phy_device *phydev,
 		      struct device_node *led)
 {
@@ -3027,6 +3043,8 @@ static int of_phy_led(struct phy_device *phydev,
 
 	if (phydev->drv->led_brightness_set)
 		cdev->brightness_set_blocking = phy_led_set_brightness;
+	if (phydev->drv->led_blink_set)
+		cdev->blink_set = phy_led_blink_set;
 	cdev->max_brightness = 1;
 	init_data.devicename = dev_name(&phydev->mdio.dev);
 	init_data.fwnode = of_fwnode_handle(led);
diff --git a/include/linux/phy.h b/include/linux/phy.h
index 2a5ee66b79b0..cad757d55ec9 100644
--- a/include/linux/phy.h
+++ b/include/linux/phy.h
@@ -1083,6 +1083,14 @@ struct phy_driver {
 	 */
 	int (*led_brightness_set)(struct phy_device *dev,
 				  u32 index, enum led_brightness value);
+	/* Activate hardware accelerated blink, delays are in milliseconds
+	 * and if both are zero then a sensible default should be chosen.
+	 * The call should adjust the timings in that case and if it can't
+	 * match the values specified exactly.
+	 */
+	int (*led_blink_set)(struct phy_device *dev, u32 index,
+			     unsigned long *delay_on,
+			     unsigned long *delay_off);
 };
 #define to_phy_driver(d) container_of(to_mdio_common_driver(d),		\
 				      struct phy_driver, mdiodrv)
-- 
2.39.2

Powered by blists - more mailing lists