lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 13 Oct 2023 10:57:36 +0800
From:   Meng Li <li.meng@....com>
To:     "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>,
        Huang Rui <ray.huang@....com>
CC:     <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>, <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        <x86@...nel.org>, <linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org>,
        Shuah Khan <skhan@...uxfoundation.org>,
        <linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org>,
        "Nathan Fontenot" <nathan.fontenot@....com>,
        Deepak Sharma <deepak.sharma@....com>,
        Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@....com>,
        Mario Limonciello <mario.limonciello@....com>,
        Shimmer Huang <shimmer.huang@....com>,
        "Perry Yuan" <Perry.Yuan@....com>,
        Xiaojian Du <Xiaojian.Du@....com>,
        Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>,
        Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        "Oleksandr Natalenko" <oleksandr@...alenko.name>,
        Meng Li <li.meng@....com>, Wyes Karny <wyes.karny@....com>
Subject: [PATCH V9 2/7] acpi: cppc: Add get the highest performance cppc control

Add support for getting the highest performance to the
generic CPPC driver. This enables downstream drivers
such as amd-pstate to discover and use these values.

Please refer to the ACPI_Spec for details on continuous
performance control of CPPC.

Tested-by: Oleksandr Natalenko <oleksandr@...alenko.name>
Reviewed-by: Mario Limonciello <mario.limonciello@....com>
Reviewed-by: Wyes Karny <wyes.karny@....com>
Acked-by: Huang Rui <ray.huang@....com>
Signed-off-by: Meng Li <li.meng@....com>
Link: https://uefi.org/specs/ACPI/6.5/08_Processor_Configuration_and_Control.html?highlight=cppc#highest-performance
---
 drivers/acpi/cppc_acpi.c | 13 +++++++++++++
 include/acpi/cppc_acpi.h |  5 +++++
 2 files changed, 18 insertions(+)

diff --git a/drivers/acpi/cppc_acpi.c b/drivers/acpi/cppc_acpi.c
index 7ff269a78c20..ad388a0e8484 100644
--- a/drivers/acpi/cppc_acpi.c
+++ b/drivers/acpi/cppc_acpi.c
@@ -1154,6 +1154,19 @@ int cppc_get_nominal_perf(int cpunum, u64 *nominal_perf)
 	return cppc_get_perf(cpunum, NOMINAL_PERF, nominal_perf);
 }
 
+/**
+ * cppc_get_highest_perf - Get the highest performance register value.
+ * @cpunum: CPU from which to get highest performance.
+ * @highest_perf: Return address.
+ *
+ * Return: 0 for success, -EIO otherwise.
+ */
+int cppc_get_highest_perf(int cpunum, u64 *highest_perf)
+{
+	return cppc_get_perf(cpunum, HIGHEST_PERF, highest_perf);
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(cppc_get_highest_perf);
+
 /**
  * cppc_get_epp_perf - Get the epp register value.
  * @cpunum: CPU from which to get epp preference value.
diff --git a/include/acpi/cppc_acpi.h b/include/acpi/cppc_acpi.h
index 6126c977ece0..c0b69ffe7bdb 100644
--- a/include/acpi/cppc_acpi.h
+++ b/include/acpi/cppc_acpi.h
@@ -139,6 +139,7 @@ struct cppc_cpudata {
 #ifdef CONFIG_ACPI_CPPC_LIB
 extern int cppc_get_desired_perf(int cpunum, u64 *desired_perf);
 extern int cppc_get_nominal_perf(int cpunum, u64 *nominal_perf);
+extern int cppc_get_highest_perf(int cpunum, u64 *highest_perf);
 extern int cppc_get_perf_ctrs(int cpu, struct cppc_perf_fb_ctrs *perf_fb_ctrs);
 extern int cppc_set_perf(int cpu, struct cppc_perf_ctrls *perf_ctrls);
 extern int cppc_set_enable(int cpu, bool enable);
@@ -165,6 +166,10 @@ static inline int cppc_get_nominal_perf(int cpunum, u64 *nominal_perf)
 {
 	return -ENOTSUPP;
 }
+static inline int cppc_get_highest_perf(int cpunum, u64 *highest_perf)
+{
+	return -ENOTSUPP;
+}
 static inline int cppc_get_perf_ctrs(int cpu, struct cppc_perf_fb_ctrs *perf_fb_ctrs)
 {
 	return -ENOTSUPP;
-- 
2.34.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists