lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 3 Nov 2023 21:05:55 -0600
From:   jim.cromie@...il.com
To:     Łukasz Bartosik <lb@...ihalf.com>
Cc:     Jason Baron <jbaron@...mai.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Douglas Anderson <dianders@...omium.org>,
        Guenter Roeck <groeck@...gle.com>,
        Yaniv Tzoreff <yanivt@...gle.com>,
        Benson Leung <bleung@...gle.com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Vincent Whitchurch <vincent.whitchurch@...s.com>,
        Pekka Paalanen <ppaalanen@...il.com>,
        Sean Paul <seanpaul@...omium.org>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        upstream@...ihalf.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 10/12] dyndbg: add processing of T(race) flag argument

On Fri, Nov 3, 2023 at 7:10 AM Łukasz Bartosik <lb@...ihalf.com> wrote:
>
> Add processing of argument provided to T(race) flag.
> The argument value determines destination of debug logs:
>
> 0 - debug logs will be written to prdbg and devdbg trace events
> [1..255] - debug logs will be written to trace instance
>
> A user can provide trace destination by folowing T flag with
> ":" and trace destination value in range [0..255], for example:
>
> echo "module thunderbolt =pT:7" > /sys/kernel/debug/dynamic_debug/control
> echo "module thunderbolt =lT:7,p" > /sys/kernel/debug/dynamic_debug/control
>
> When T flag with argument is followed by other flags then the next flag has
> to be preceded with ",".
>

the trailing , seems punctuation heavy.
Could we just stipulate that any :string  (leading : trailing anything)
be the last flag in the spec ?
bare T flags are not constrained otherwise.
seems fine as API-spec-by-error-codes.




> When no value is provided trace destination defaults to 0, for example:
>
> echo "module thunderbolt =T" > /sys/kernel/debug/dynamic_debug/control
> echo "module thunderbolt =lTp" > /sys/kernel/debug/dynamic_debug/control

no colon after T means p is a flag, not a destination name

Powered by blists - more mailing lists