lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 13 Nov 2023 12:26:33 +0000
From:   Marc Zyngier <maz@...nel.org>
To:     Hongyan Xia <hongyan.xia2@....com>
Cc:     David Dai <davidai@...gle.com>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
        Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@...aro.org>,
        Conor Dooley <conor+dt@...nel.org>,
        Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@....com>,
        Saravana Kannan <saravanak@...gle.com>,
        Quentin Perret <qperret@...gle.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...gle.com>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>,
        Oliver Upton <oliver.upton@...ux.dev>,
        Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>,
        Pavan Kondeti <quic_pkondeti@...cinc.com>,
        Gupta Pankaj <pankaj.gupta@....com>,
        Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>, kernel-team@...roid.com,
        linux-pm@...r.kernel.org, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 0/2] Improve VM CPUfreq and task placement behavior

On Mon, 13 Nov 2023 12:20:29 +0000,
Hongyan Xia <hongyan.xia2@....com> wrote:
> 
> Also, my knowledge with KVM is limited. May I know where the vCPU fork
> happens? Can't you just set the p->sched_reset_on_fork flag on fork to
> not carry forward the uclamp values?

There is no "vCPU fork". The vcpu is a VMM (qemu, crosvm, kvmtool)
thread, nothing else.

	M.

-- 
Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists