lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Fri, 4 May 2012 11:54:09 -0400
From:	Neal Cardwell <ncardwell@...gle.com>
To:	Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@...il.com>
Cc:	David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
	netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	Perry Lorier <perryl@...gle.com>,
	Matt Mathis <mattmathis@...gle.com>,
	Yuchung Cheng <ycheng@...gle.com>,
	Tom Herbert <therbert@...gle.com>,
	Wilmer van der Gaast <wilmer@...gle.com>,
	Dave Täht <dave.taht@...ferbloat.net>,
	Ankur Jain <jankur@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next] tcp: be more strict before accepting ECN negociation

On Fri, May 4, 2012 at 11:14 AM, Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@...il.com> wrote:
> From: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>
>
> It appears some networks play bad games with the two bits reserved for
> ECN. This can trigger false congestion notifications and very slow
> transferts.
>
> Since RFC 3168 (6.1.1) forbids SYN packets to carry CT bits, we can
> disable TCP ECN negociation if it happens we receive mangled CT bits in
> the SYN packet.
>
> Signed-off-by: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>
> Cc: Perry Lorier <perryl@...gle.com>
> Cc: Matt Mathis <mattmathis@...gle.com>
> Cc: Yuchung Cheng <ycheng@...gle.com>
> Cc: Neal Cardwell <ncardwell@...gle.com>
> Cc: Wilmer van der Gaast <wilmer@...gle.com>
> Cc: Ankur Jain <jankur@...gle.com>
> Cc: Tom Herbert <therbert@...gle.com>
> Cc: Dave Täht <dave.taht@...ferbloat.net>
> ---
>  include/net/tcp.h   |   23 ++++++++++++++++-------
>  net/ipv4/tcp_ipv4.c |    2 +-
>  net/ipv6/tcp_ipv6.c |    2 +-
>  3 files changed, 18 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)

Acked-by: Neal Cardwell <ncardwell@...gle.com>

neal
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe netdev" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Powered by blists - more mailing lists