lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 30 Jan 2014 13:02:48 -0500
From:	Richard Yao <ryao@...too.org>
To:	Eric Van Hensbergen <ericvh@...il.com>
Cc:	Ron Minnich <rminnich@...dia.gov>,
	Latchesar Ionkov <lucho@...kov.net>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	V9FS Develooper Mailing List 
	<v9fs-developer@...ts.sourceforge.net>,
	Linux Netdev Mailing List <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Gentoo Kernel Team <kernel@...too.org>,
	"Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	Christopher Covington <cov@...eaurora.org>,
	Brian Behlendorf <behlendorf1@...l.gov>,
	Matthew Thode <mthode@...ode.org>,
	Richard Yao <ryao@...too.org>
Subject: [PATCH] 9p/trans_virtio.c: Fix broken zero-copy on vmalloc() buffers

The 9p-virtio transport does zero copy on things larger than 1024 bytes
in size. It accomplishes this by returning the physical addresses of
pages to the virtio-pci device. At present, the translation is usually a
bit shift.

However, that approach produces an invalid page address when we
read/write to vmalloc buffers, such as those used for Linux kernle
modules. This causes QEMU to die printing:

qemu-system-x86_64: virtio: trying to map MMIO memory

This patch enables 9p-virtio to correctly handle this case. This not
only enables us to load Linux kernel modules off virtfs, but also
enables ZFS file-based vdevs on virtfs to be used without killing QEMU.

Also, special thanks to both Avi Kivity and Alexander Graf for their
interpretation of QEMU backtraces. Without their guidence, tracking down
this bug would have taken much longer.

Signed-off-by: Richard Yao <ryao@...too.org>
Acked-by: Alexander Graf <agraf@...e.de>
Reviewed-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>
---
 net/9p/trans_virtio.c | 5 ++++-
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/net/9p/trans_virtio.c b/net/9p/trans_virtio.c
index cd1e1ed..b2009bc 100644
--- a/net/9p/trans_virtio.c
+++ b/net/9p/trans_virtio.c
@@ -340,7 +340,10 @@ static int p9_get_mapped_pages(struct virtio_chan *chan,
 		int count = nr_pages;
 		while (nr_pages) {
 			s = rest_of_page(data);
-			pages[index++] = kmap_to_page(data);
+			if (is_vmalloc_or_module_addr(data))
+				pages[index++] = vmalloc_to_page(data);
+			else
+				pages[index++] = kmap_to_page(data);
 			data += s;
 			nr_pages--;
 		}
-- 
1.8.3.2

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe netdev" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Powered by blists - more mailing lists