lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 22 May 2014 09:47:51 -0700
From:	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
To:	netdev@...r.kernel.org
Cc:	davem@...emloft.net, Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
	Pantelis Antoniou <pantelis.antoniou@...il.com>,
	Vitaly Bordug <vbordug@...mvista.com>,
	Li Yang <leoli@...escale.com>,
	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org>,
	Sergei Shtylyov <sergei.shtylyov@...entembedded.com>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...e-electrons.com>,
	Aida Mynzhasova <aida.mynzhasova@...tlab.ru>,
	Richard Cochran <richardcochran@...il.com>,
	Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@...escale.com>,
	devicetree@...r.kernel.org (open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND...),
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org (open list),
	linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org (open list:LINUX FOR POWERPC...)
Subject: [PATCH net-next v2 9/9] powerpc/fsl: fsl_soc: remove 'fixed-link' parsing code

Parsing and registration of fixed PHY devices was needed with the use of
of_phy_connect_fixed_link() because this function was using the
designated PHY address identifier (first cell of the property) as the
address to bind the PHY on the emulated bus.

Since commit 3be2a49e5c08d268f8af0dd4fe89a24ea8cdc339 ("of: provide a
binding for fixed link PHYs") a new pair of functions has been
introduced which allows for dynamic address allocation of these fixed
PHY devices, but also parses the old 'fixed-link' 5-digit property.

Registration of fixed PHY early in platform code was needed because we
could not issue a fixed MDIO bus re-scan within network drivers. The
fixed PHYs had to be registered before the network drivers would call
of_phy_connect_fixed_link(). All of these caveats are solved now, such
that we can safely remove of_add_fixed_phys() now.

Signed-off-by: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
---
No changes in v2

 arch/powerpc/sysdev/fsl_soc.c | 32 --------------------------------
 1 file changed, 32 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/powerpc/sysdev/fsl_soc.c b/arch/powerpc/sysdev/fsl_soc.c
index 228cf91b91c1..ffd1169ebaab 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/sysdev/fsl_soc.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/sysdev/fsl_soc.c
@@ -25,7 +25,6 @@
 #include <linux/of.h>
 #include <linux/of_platform.h>
 #include <linux/phy.h>
-#include <linux/phy_fixed.h>
 #include <linux/spi/spi.h>
 #include <linux/fsl_devices.h>
 #include <linux/fs_enet_pd.h>
@@ -178,37 +177,6 @@ u32 get_baudrate(void)
 EXPORT_SYMBOL(get_baudrate);
 #endif /* CONFIG_CPM2 */
 
-#ifdef CONFIG_FIXED_PHY
-static int __init of_add_fixed_phys(void)
-{
-	int ret;
-	struct device_node *np;
-	u32 *fixed_link;
-	struct fixed_phy_status status = {};
-
-	for_each_node_by_name(np, "ethernet") {
-		fixed_link  = (u32 *)of_get_property(np, "fixed-link", NULL);
-		if (!fixed_link)
-			continue;
-
-		status.link = 1;
-		status.duplex = fixed_link[1];
-		status.speed = fixed_link[2];
-		status.pause = fixed_link[3];
-		status.asym_pause = fixed_link[4];
-
-		ret = fixed_phy_add(PHY_POLL, fixed_link[0], &status);
-		if (ret) {
-			of_node_put(np);
-			return ret;
-		}
-	}
-
-	return 0;
-}
-arch_initcall(of_add_fixed_phys);
-#endif /* CONFIG_FIXED_PHY */
-
 #if defined(CONFIG_FSL_SOC_BOOKE) || defined(CONFIG_PPC_86xx)
 static __be32 __iomem *rstcr;
 
-- 
1.9.1

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe netdev" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Powered by blists - more mailing lists