lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Wed, 23 Jul 2014 11:20:20 +0800
From:	Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@...ux.intel.com>
To:	Nishanth Aravamudan <nacc@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Alexander Duyck <alexander.duyck@...il.com>
CC:	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>,
	David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>,
	Mike Galbraith <umgwanakikbuti@...il.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>,
	Jeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@...el.com>,
	Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>,
	Bruce Allan <bruce.w.allan@...el.com>,
	Carolyn Wyborny <carolyn.wyborny@...el.com>,
	Don Skidmore <donald.c.skidmore@...el.com>,
	Greg Rose <gregory.v.rose@...el.com>,
	Alex Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@...el.com>,
	John Ronciak <john.ronciak@...el.com>,
	Mitch Williams <mitch.a.williams@...el.com>,
	Linux NICS <linux.nics@...el.com>,
	Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>, linux-mm@...ck.org,
	linux-hotplug@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	e1000-devel@...ts.sourceforge.net, Netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC Patch V1 15/30] mm, igb: Use cpu_to_mem()/numa_mem_id()
 to support memoryless node

Hi Nishanth and Alexander,
	Thanks for review, will update the comments
in next version.
Regards!
Gerry

On 2014/7/22 5:09, Nishanth Aravamudan wrote:
> On 21.07.2014 [12:53:33 -0700], Alexander Duyck wrote:
>> I do agree the description should probably be changed.  There shouldn't be
>> any panics involved, only a performance impact as it will be reallocating
>> always if it is on a node with no memory.
> 
> Yep, thanks for the review.
> 
>> My intention on this was to make certain that the memory used is from the
>> closest node possible.  As such I believe this change likely honours that.
> 
> Absolutely, just wanted to make it explicit that it's not a functional
> fix, just a performance fix (presuming this shows up at all on systems
> that have memoryless NUMA nodes).
> 
> I'd suggest an update to the comments, as well.
> 
> Thanks,
> Nish
> 
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe netdev" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Powered by blists - more mailing lists