lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Mon, 18 Aug 2014 15:20:47 +0200
From:	Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.de>
To:	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>
Cc:	"Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...e.com>,
	"Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...not-panic.com>,
	gregkh@...uxfoundation.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@...ove.SAKURA.ne.jp>,
	Joseph Salisbury <joseph.salisbury@...onical.com>,
	Kay Sievers <kay@...y.org>,
	One Thousand Gnomes <gnomes@...rguk.ukuu.org.uk>,
	Tim Gardner <tim.gardner@...onical.com>,
	Pierre Fersing <pierre-fersing@...rref.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Benjamin Poirier <bpoirier@...e.de>,
	Nagalakshmi Nandigama <nagalakshmi.nandigama@...gotech.com>,
	Praveen Krishnamoorthy <praveen.krishnamoorthy@...gotech.com>,
	Sreekanth Reddy <sreekanth.reddy@...gotech.com>,
	Abhijit Mahajan <abhijit.mahajan@...gotech.com>,
	Hariprasad S <hariprasad@...lsio.com>,
	Santosh Rastapur <santosh@...lsio.com>,
	MPT-FusionLinux.pdl@...gotech.com, linux-scsi@...r.kernel.org,
	netdev@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 1/3] init / kthread: add module_long_probe_init() and	module_long_probe_exit()

At Mon, 18 Aug 2014 14:22:17 +0200,
Oleg Nesterov wrote:
> 
> On 08/18, Takashi Iwai wrote:
> >
> > #define module_long_probe_init(initfn)				\
> > 	static int _long_probe_##initfn(void *arg)		\
> > 	{							\
> > 		module_put_and_exit(initfn());			\
> > 		return 0;					\
> > 	}							\
> > 	static int __init __long_probe_##initfn(void)		\
> > 	{							\
> > 		struct task_struct *__init_thread =		\
> > 			kthread_create(_long_probe_##initfn,	\
> > 				       NULL, #initfn);		\
> > 		if (IS_ERR(__init_thread))			\
> > 			return PTR_ERR(__init_thread);		\
> > 		__module_get(THIS_MODULE);			\
> > 		wake_up_process(__init_thread);			\
> > 		return 0;					\
> > 	}							\
> > 	module_init(__long_probe_##initfn)
> >
> > ... and module_exit() remains identical as the normal version.
> 
> Aaaah. This is not true, module_exit() should not call exitfn() if initfn()
> fails... So _long_probe_##initfn() needs to save the error code which should
> be checked by module_exit().

Oh, right.  So we need a reference in the module exit path in anyway,
and Luis' version might be shorter in the end.


thanks,

Takashi
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe netdev" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Powered by blists - more mailing lists