lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Sun, 22 Nov 2015 14:32:16 +0000
From:	Rainer Weikusat <rweikusat@...ileactivedefense.com>
To:	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>
Cc:	Rainer Weikusat <rweikusat@...ileactivedefense.com>,
	Jason Baron <jbaron@...mai.com>,
	Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
	David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
	netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	syzkaller <syzkaller@...glegroups.com>,
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
	Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@...cle.com>,
	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: Use-after-free in ppoll

Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com> writes:
> Hello,
>
> On commit f2d10565b9bdbb722bd43e6e1a759eeddb9645c8 (Nov 20).
>
> The following program triggers use-after-free:
>
> // autogenerated by syzkaller (http://github.com/google/syzkaller)
> #include <syscall.h>
> #include <string.h>
> #include <stdint.h>
> #include <pthread.h>
>
> void *thread(void *p)
> {
>         syscall(SYS_write, (long)p, 0x2000278ful, 0x1ul, 0, 0, 0);
>         return 0;
> }

[...]


>         long r1 = syscall(SYS_socketpair, 0x1ul, 0x3ul, 0x0ul,

[...]

>         long r5 = syscall(SYS_close, r2, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0);
>         pthread_t th;
>         pthread_create(&th, 0, thread, (void*)(long)r3);

[...]

>         long r21 = syscall(SYS_ppoll, 0x20000ffful, 0x3ul, 0x20000ffcul, 0x20000ffdul, 0x8ul, 0);
>         return 0;
> }

That's one of the already known sequences for triggering this issue: The
close will clear the peer pointer of the closed socket, hence, the 2nd
sock_poll_wait will be called by unix_dgram_poll. The write will
execute unix_dgram_sendmsg which detects that the peer is dead and
disconnects from it, causing the corresponding structures to be freed
despite they're still used.

NB: I didn't execute this but I spend a fair amount of time with the
af_unix.c code during the last couple of weeks and consider myself
"reasonably familiar" with it and that's IMO what should happen here.
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe netdev" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Powered by blists - more mailing lists