lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Tue, 01 Dec 2015 05:05:00 -0800
From:	Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@...il.com>
To:	Hannes Frederic Sowa <hannes@...essinduktion.org>
Cc:	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
	Vlad Yasevich <vyasevich@...il.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Alexey Kuznetsov <kuznet@....inr.ac.ru>,
	James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
	Hideaki YOSHIFUJI <yoshfuji@...ux-ipv6.org>,
	Patrick McHardy <kaber@...sh.net>,
	netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
	William Dauchy <wdauchy@...il.com>,
	Rainer Weikusat <rweikusat@...ileactivedefense.com>,
	syzkaller <syzkaller@...glegroups.com>,
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
	Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@...cle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net] ipv6: add complete rcu protection around np->opt

On Tue, 2015-12-01 at 12:11 +0100, Hannes Frederic Sowa wrote:
> Hi Eric,
> 
> On Mon, Nov 30, 2015, at 04:37, Eric Dumazet wrote:
> > -                       opt = xchg(&np->opt, NULL);
> > -                       if (opt)
> > -                               sock_kfree_s(sk, opt, opt->tot_len);
> > +                       opt = xchg((__force struct ipv6_txoptions
> > **)&np->opt,
> > +                                  NULL);
> > +                       if (opt) {
> > +                               atomic_sub(opt->tot_len,
> > &sk->sk_omem_alloc);
> > +                               txopt_put(opt);
> > +                       }
> >  			pktopt = xchg(&np->pktoptions, NULL);
> >  			kfree_skb(pktopt);
> 
> Is here something special going on (because of the xchg). I don't see
> why you cannot simply use a RCU_INIT_POINTER?
> 
> Thanks,
> Hannes

Yes, I mentioned this earlier, and will be addressed in net-next tree
later.

(Same for np->pktoptions)

The xchg() here does not bring additional protection as we are the last
user of np.

Thanks.




--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe netdev" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Powered by blists - more mailing lists