lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 7 Oct 2016 08:20:51 -0700
From:   Moritz Fischer <moritz.fischer@...us.com>
To:     Xander Huff <xander.huff@...com>
Cc:     Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@...el.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        Nathan Sullivan <nathan.sullivan@...com>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Brad Mouring <brad.mouring@...com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] net: macb: NULL out phydev after removing mdio bus

On Fri, Oct 7, 2016 at 8:13 AM, Xander Huff <xander.huff@...com> wrote:
> From: Nathan Sullivan <nathan.sullivan@...com>
>
> To ensure the dev->phydev pointer is not used after becoming invalid in
> mdiobus_unregister, set it to NULL. This happens when removing the macb
> driver without first taking its interface down, since unregister_netdev
> will end up calling macb_close.
>
> Signed-off-by: Xander Huff <xander.huff@...com>
> Signed-off-by: Nathan Sullivan <nathan.sullivan@...com>
> Signed-off-by: Brad Mouring <brad.mouring@...com>
Reviewed-by: Moritz Fischer <moritz.fischer@...us.com>

Powered by blists - more mailing lists