lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 21 Dec 2016 09:57:55 +0100
From:   Romain Perier <romain.perier@...e-electrons.com>
To:     Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
Cc:     Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@...oirfairelinux.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Jason Cooper <jason@...edaemon.net>,
        Sebastian Hesselbarth <sebastian.hesselbarth@...il.com>,
        Gregory Clement <gregory.clement@...e-electrons.com>,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@...lion.org.uk>,
        Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@....com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Kumar Gala <galak@...eaurora.org>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...e-electrons.com>,
        Nadav Haklai <nadavh@...vell.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 3/3] arm64: dts: marvell: Add ethernet switch
 definition for the ESPRESSObin

Hi,

Le 20/12/2016 à 17:17, Andrew Lunn a écrit :
>>>> +		mdio {
>>>> +			#address-cells = <1>;
>>>> +			#size-cells = <0>;
>>>> +			reg = <1>;
>>>
>>> what is this reg value for?
>>>
>>>     Andrew
>>>
>>
>> It was required to avoid a warning thrown by the mdio subsystem
>
> Do you remember what the warning was?
>
> This seems odd to me. I don't see why a reg is needed here.
>
> Thanks
> 	Andrew
>

Mhhh, in fact, I did changes to this mdio node, I relocated it...
the warning was probably before the relocation, because I no longer see 
it. So I have removed this reg value.

Thanks,
Romain

Powered by blists - more mailing lists