lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 10 Aug 2018 09:33:39 +0100
From:   Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@...aro.org>
To:     Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@...ev.pl>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, Sekhar Nori <nsekhar@...com>,
        Kevin Hilman <khilman@...nel.org>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        David Woodhouse <dwmw2@...radead.org>,
        Brian Norris <computersforpeace@...il.com>,
        Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@...tlin.com>,
        Marek Vasut <marek.vasut@...il.com>,
        Richard Weinberger <richard@....at>,
        Grygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@...com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Naren <naren.kernel@...il.com>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+samsung@...nel.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>,
        Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@...cle.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Ivan Khoronzhuk <ivan.khoronzhuk@...aro.org>,
        Sven Van Asbroeck <svendev@...x.com>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>, Alban Bedel <albeu@...e.fr>,
        Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>,
        David Lechner <david@...hnology.com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
Cc:     linux-doc@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-i2c@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org, linux-omap@...r.kernel.org,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@...libre.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 05/29] nvmem: remove the name field from struct
 nvmem_device



On 10/08/18 09:05, Bartosz Golaszewski wrote:
> From: Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@...libre.com>
> 
> This field is never set and is only used in a single error message.
> Remove the field and use nvmem_dev_name() instead.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@...libre.com>
> ---
Looks good to me!

>   drivers/nvmem/core.c | 3 +--
>   1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 2 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/nvmem/core.c b/drivers/nvmem/core.c
> index 31df2e6d6f72..ab3ced2d9a84 100644
> --- a/drivers/nvmem/core.c
> +++ b/drivers/nvmem/core.c
> @@ -26,7 +26,6 @@
>   #include <linux/slab.h>
>   
>   struct nvmem_device {
> -	const char		*name;
>   	struct module		*owner;
>   	struct device		dev;
>   	int			stride;
> @@ -712,7 +711,7 @@ static struct nvmem_device *__nvmem_device_get(struct device_node *np,
>   	if (!try_module_get(nvmem->owner)) {
>   		dev_err(&nvmem->dev,
>   			"could not increase module refcount for cell %s\n",
> -			nvmem->name);
> +			nvmem_dev_name(nvmem));
>   
>   		mutex_lock(&nvmem_mutex);
>   		nvmem->users--;
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists