lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 17 Jan 2019 10:00:46 -0800
From:   Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
To:     Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>,
        Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@...il.com>
Cc:     Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...tlin.com>,
        Gregory Clement <gregory.clement@...tlin.com>,
        Antoine Tenart <antoine.tenart@...tlin.com>,
        Maxime Chevallier <maxime.chevallier@...tlin.com>,
        Nadav Haklai <nadavh@...vell.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next] net: dsa: mv88e6xxx: Add suspend/resume
 callbacks

On 1/17/19 7:50 AM, Miquel Raynal wrote:
> Hi Andrew, Vivien,
> 
> Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@...il.com> wrote on Thu, 17 Jan 2019
> 10:46:41 -0500:
> 
>> Hi,
>>
>> On Wed, 16 Jan 2019 23:23:29 +0100, Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch> wrote:
>>> Hi Florian
>>>   
>>>> A possible approach could be to call the port_disable, port_enable
>>>> callbacks from dsa_slave_suspend() and dsa_slave_resume(), I might have
>>>> some patches doing that already somewhere.  
>>>
>>> I expect it is also on Viviens TODO list, since this really could be
>>> in the core.  
>>
>> Indeed that is!
> 
> So, shall I wait for Vivien's patches (adding port_disable/enable()
> in dsa_slave_suspend/resume()) and keep the driver as-is or do you want
> me to manually call port_disable/enable() from the mv88e6xxx driver?

Up to you guys, the only thing that I an tell you is that my platform
loses its register contents during suspend/resume, therefore you must
make sure the driver re-applies the entire switch configuration,
identical to how it was prior to suspend. If you need me to test
something, please holler.
-- 
Florian

Powered by blists - more mailing lists