lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 5 Feb 2019 14:27:07 +0100
From:   Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
To:     Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>
Cc:     Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@...il.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...tlin.com>,
        Gregory Clement <gregory.clement@...tlin.com>,
        Antoine Tenart <antoine.tenart@...tlin.com>,
        Maxime Chevallier <maxime.chevallier@...tlin.com>,
        Nadav Haklai <nadavh@...vell.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next v3] net: dsa: mv88e6xxx: Prevent suspend to RAM

On Tue, Feb 05, 2019 at 12:07:28PM +0100, Miquel Raynal wrote:
> On one hand, the mv88e6xxx driver has a work queue called in loop
> which will attempt register accesses after MDIO bus suspension, that
> entirely freezes the platform during suspend.
> 
> On the other hand, the DSA core is not ready yet to support suspend to
> RAM operation because so far there is no way to recover reliably the
> switch configuration.
> 
> To avoid the kernel to freeze when suspending with a switch driven by
> the mv88e6xxx driver, we choose to prevent the driver suspension and
> in the same way, the whole platform.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>

Reviewed-by: Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>

    Andrew

Powered by blists - more mailing lists