lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 13 Feb 2019 14:40:18 +0100
From:   Marc Gonzalez <marc.w.gonzalez@...e.fr>
To:     Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Niklas Cassel <niklas.cassel@...aro.org>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
Cc:     Vinod Koul <vkoul@...nel.org>,
        David S Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
        linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org,
        Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@...aro.org>,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        "Nori, Sekhar" <nsekhar@...com>,
        Peter Ujfalusi <peter.ujfalusi@...com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] net: phy: at803x: disable delay only for RGMII mode

On 13/02/2019 14:29, Andrew Lunn wrote:

>> So we have these modes:
>>
>> PHY_INTERFACE_MODE_RGMII: TX and RX delays disabled
>> PHY_INTERFACE_MODE_RGMII_ID: TX and RX delays enabled
>> PHY_INTERFACE_MODE_RGMII_RXID: RX delay enabled, TX delay disabled
>> PHY_INTERFACE_MODE_RGMII_TXID: TX delay enabled, RX delay disabled
>>
>> What I don't like with this patch, is that if we specify phy-mode
>> PHY_INTERFACE_MODE_RGMII_TXID, this patch will enable TX delay,
>> but RX delay will not be explicitly set.
> 
> That is not the behaviour we want. It is best to assume the device is
> in a random state, and correctly enable/disable all delays as
> requested. Only leave the hardware alone if PHY_INTERFACE_MODE_NA is
> used.

That's what my patch did:
https://www.spinics.net/lists/netdev/msg445053.html

But see Florian's remarks:
https://www.spinics.net/lists/netdev/msg445133.html

Regards.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists