lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 3 May 2019 13:34:56 +0300
From:   Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@...cle.com>
To:     Petr Štetiar <ynezz@...e.cz>
Cc:     netdev@...r.kernel.org, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        devel@...verdev.osuosl.org, Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@...tlin.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@...aro.org>,
        Frank Rowand <frowand.list@...il.com>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 08/10] staging: octeon-ethernet: support
 of_get_mac_address new ERR_PTR error

On Fri, May 03, 2019 at 09:56:05AM +0200, Petr Štetiar wrote:
> There was NVMEM support added to of_get_mac_address, so it could now
> return NULL and ERR_PTR encoded error values, so we need to adjust all
> current users of of_get_mac_address to this new fact.

Which commit added NVMEM support?  It hasn't hit net-next or linux-next
yet...  Very strange.

Why would of_get_mac_address() return a mix of NULL and error pointers?
In that situation, then NULL is a special kind of success like when you
request feature and the feature works but it's disabled by the user.  We
don't want to treat it as an error but we still can't return a pointer
to a feature we don't have...  It's hard for me to imagine how that
makes sense for getting a mac address.

At the very least, this patch needs a Fixes tag.

regards,
dan carpenter

Powered by blists - more mailing lists