lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 7 May 2019 11:44:57 -0500
From:   Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>
To:     Petr Štetiar <ynezz@...e.cz>
Cc:     netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@...il.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Yisen Zhuang <yisen.zhuang@...wei.com>,
        Salil Mehta <salil.mehta@...wei.com>,
        Woojung Huh <woojung.huh@...rochip.com>,
        Microchip Linux Driver Support <UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com>,
        Kunihiko Hayashi <hayashi.kunihiko@...ionext.com>,
        Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
        Jassi Brar <jaswinder.singh@...aro.org>,
        Kalle Valo <kvalo@...eaurora.org>,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Frank Rowand <frowand.list@...il.com>,
        Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@...aro.org>,
        Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@...tlin.com>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "moderated list:ARM/FREESCALE IMX / MXC ARM ARCHITECTURE" 
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        linux-wireless <linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org>,
        "moderated list:ARM/Mediatek SoC support" 
        <linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 02/10] dt-bindings: doc: reflect new NVMEM
 of_get_mac_address behaviour

On Fri, May 3, 2019 at 9:27 AM Petr Štetiar <ynezz@...e.cz> wrote:
>
> As of_get_mac_address now supports NVMEM under the hood, we need to update
> the bindings documentation with the new nvmem-cell* properties, which would
> mean copy&pasting a lot of redundant information to every binding
> documentation currently referencing some of the MAC address properties.
>
> So I've just removed all the references to the optional MAC address
> properties and replaced them with the small note referencing
> net/ethernet.txt file.
>
> Signed-off-by: Petr Štetiar <ynezz@...e.cz>
> ---
>
>  Changes since v2:
>
>  * replaced only MAC address related optional properties with a text
>    referencing ethernet.txt
>
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/altera_tse.txt           |  5 ++---
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/amd-xgbe.txt             |  5 +++--
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/brcm,amac.txt            |  4 ++--
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/cpsw.txt                 |  4 +++-
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/davinci_emac.txt         |  5 +++--
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/dsa/dsa.txt              |  5 ++---
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/ethernet.txt             |  6 ++++--
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/hisilicon-femac.txt      |  4 +++-
>  .../devicetree/bindings/net/hisilicon-hix5hd2-gmac.txt         |  4 +++-
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/keystone-netcp.txt       | 10 +++++-----
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/macb.txt                 |  5 ++---
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/marvell-pxa168.txt       |  4 +++-
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/microchip,enc28j60.txt   |  3 ++-
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/microchip,lan78xx.txt    |  5 ++---
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/qca,qca7000.txt          |  4 +++-
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/samsung-sxgbe.txt        |  4 +++-
>  .../devicetree/bindings/net/snps,dwc-qos-ethernet.txt          |  5 +++--
>  .../devicetree/bindings/net/socionext,uniphier-ave4.txt        |  4 ++--
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/socionext-netsec.txt     |  5 +++--
>  .../devicetree/bindings/net/wireless/mediatek,mt76.txt         |  5 +++--
>  Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/wireless/qca,ath9k.txt   |  4 ++--
>  21 files changed, 58 insertions(+), 42 deletions(-)

[...]

> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/keystone-netcp.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/keystone-netcp.txt
> index 04ba1dc..3a65aab 100644
> --- a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/keystone-netcp.txt
> +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/keystone-netcp.txt
> @@ -135,14 +135,14 @@ Optional properties:
>                 are swapped.  The netcp driver will swap the two DWORDs
>                 back to the proper order when this property is set to 2
>                 when it obtains the mac address from efuse.
> -- local-mac-address:   the driver is designed to use the of_get_mac_address api
> -                       only if efuse-mac is 0. When efuse-mac is 0, the MAC
> -                       address is obtained from local-mac-address. If this
> -                       attribute is not present, then the driver will use a
> -                       random MAC address.
>  - "netcp-device label":        phandle to the device specification for each of NetCP
>                         sub-module attached to this interface.
>
> +The MAC address will be determined using the optional properties defined in
> +ethernet.txt, as provided by the of_get_mac_address API and only if efuse-mac

Don't make references to Linux in bindings. You can talk about
expectations of client programs (e.g Linux, u-boot, BSD, etc.) though.

Rob

Powered by blists - more mailing lists