lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 23 Sep 2019 08:09:27 +0000
From:   Jose Abreu <Jose.Abreu@...opsys.com>
To:     Jakub Kicinski <jakub.kicinski@...ronome.com>,
        Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>
CC:     "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@...com>,
        Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@...com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Jon Hunter <jonathanh@...dia.com>,
        Bitan Biswas <bbiswas@...dia.com>,
        "netdev@...r.kernel.org" <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-tegra@...r.kernel.org" <linux-tegra@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: RE: [PATCH] net: stmmac: Fix page pool size

From: Jakub Kicinski <jakub.kicinski@...ronome.com>
Date: Sep/22/2019, 23:31:32 (UTC+00:00)

> On Fri, 20 Sep 2019 19:01:27 +0200, Thierry Reding wrote:
> > From: Thierry Reding <treding@...dia.com>
> > 
> > The size of individual pages in the page pool in given by an order. The
> > order is the binary logarithm of the number of pages that make up one of
> > the pages in the pool. However, the driver currently passes the number
> > of pages rather than the order, so it ends up wasting quite a bit of
> > memory.
> > 
> > Fix this by taking the binary logarithm and passing that in the order
> > field.
> > 
> > Signed-off-by: Thierry Reding <treding@...dia.com>
> 
> Since this is a fix could we get a Fixes tag pointing to the commit
> which introduced the regression?

This would be:

2af6106ae949 ("net: stmmac: Introducing support for Page Pool")

Can you please resubmit Thierry ?

---
Thanks,
Jose Miguel Abreu

Powered by blists - more mailing lists