lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 3 Dec 2019 11:41:07 -0300
From:   Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <arnaldo.melo@...il.com>
To:     Naresh Kamboju <naresh.kamboju@...aro.org>
Cc:     Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <arnaldo.melo@...il.com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andrii.nakryiko@...il.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <jakub.kicinski@...ronome.com>,
        Stanislav Fomichev <sdf@...ichev.me>,
        Toke Høiland-Jørgensen <toke@...hat.com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...nel.org>, Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>, bpf <bpf@...r.kernel.org>,
        Networking <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-perf-users@...r.kernel.org,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Quentin Monnet <quentin.monnet@...ronome.com>,
        Leo Yan <leo.yan@...aro.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] libbpf: Use PRIu64 for sym->st_value to fix build on
 32-bit arches

Em Tue, Dec 03, 2019 at 07:20:08PM +0530, Naresh Kamboju escreveu:
> Hi Arnaldo,
> 
> FYI,
> 
> On Wed, 27 Nov 2019 at 19:15, Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
> <arnaldo.melo@...il.com> wrote:
> >
> > Another fix I'm carrying in my perf/core branch,
> >
> > Regards,
> >
> > - Arnaldo
> >
> > commit 98bb09f90a0ae33125fabc8f41529345382f1498
> > Author: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...hat.com>
> > Date:   Wed Nov 27 09:26:54 2019 -0300
> >
> >     libbpf: Use PRIu64 for sym->st_value to fix build on 32-bit arches
> >
> >     The st_value field is a 64-bit value, so use PRIu64 to fix this error on
> >     32-bit arches:
> >
> >       In file included from libbpf.c:52:
> >       libbpf.c: In function 'bpf_program__record_reloc':
> >       libbpf_internal.h:59:22: error: format '%lu' expects argument of type 'long unsigned int', but argument 3 has type 'Elf64_Addr' {aka 'const long long unsigned int'} [-Werror=format=]
> >         libbpf_print(level, "libbpf: " fmt, ##__VA_ARGS__); \
> >                             ^~~~~~~~~~
> >       libbpf_internal.h:62:27: note: in expansion of macro '__pr'
> >        #define pr_warn(fmt, ...) __pr(LIBBPF_WARN, fmt, ##__VA_ARGS__)
> >                                  ^~~~
> >       libbpf.c:1822:4: note: in expansion of macro 'pr_warn'
> >           pr_warn("bad call relo offset: %lu\n", sym->st_value);
> >           ^~~~~~~
> >       libbpf.c:1822:37: note: format string is defined here
> >           pr_warn("bad call relo offset: %lu\n", sym->st_value);
> >                                          ~~^
> >                                          %llu
> 
> This build error is been noticed on Linux mainline kernel for 32-bit
> architectures from Nov 26.

Right, the fix is in the bpf tree:

https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/bpf/bpf.git/commit/?id=7c3977d1e804

Should go upstream soon.

- Arnaldo
 
> Full build log,
> https://ci.linaro.org/job/openembedded-lkft-linux-mainline/DISTRO=lkft,MACHINE=intel-core2-32,label=docker-lkft/2297/consoleText
> https://ci.linaro.org/job/openembedded-lkft-linux-mainline/
> 
> - Naresh

-- 

- Arnaldo

Powered by blists - more mailing lists