lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 10 Dec 2019 18:53:10 -0800
From:   John Hubbard <jhubbard@...dia.com>
To:     Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
CC:     Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@...hat.com>,
        Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>,
        Björn Töpel <bjorn.topel@...el.com>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
        Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>,
        Dave Chinner <david@...morbit.com>,
        David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@...el.com>, Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
        Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@...pe.ca>, Jens Axboe <axboe@...nel.dk>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@...hat.com>,
        Magnus Karlsson <magnus.karlsson@...el.com>,
        "Mauro Carvalho Chehab" <mchehab@...nel.org>,
        Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
        Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
        Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@...cle.com>,
        "Paul Mackerras" <paulus@...ba.org>, Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>, <bpf@...r.kernel.org>,
        <dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org>, <kvm@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-block@...r.kernel.org>, <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org>, <linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-media@...r.kernel.org>, <linux-rdma@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org>, <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-mm@...ck.org>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        John Hubbard <jhubbard@...dia.com>,
        "Christoph Hellwig" <hch@....de>,
        Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@...all.nl>,
        <stable@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: [PATCH v9 17/25] media/v4l2-core: set pages dirty upon releasing DMA buffers

After DMA is complete, and the device and CPU caches are synchronized,
it's still required to mark the CPU pages as dirty, if the data was
coming from the device. However, this driver was just issuing a
bare put_page() call, without any set_page_dirty*() call.

Fix the problem, by calling set_page_dirty_lock() if the CPU pages
were potentially receiving data from the device.

Reviewed-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>
Acked-by: Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@...all.nl>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>
Cc: <stable@...r.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: John Hubbard <jhubbard@...dia.com>
---
 drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-sg.c | 5 ++++-
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-sg.c b/drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-sg.c
index 66a6c6c236a7..28262190c3ab 100644
--- a/drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-sg.c
+++ b/drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-sg.c
@@ -349,8 +349,11 @@ int videobuf_dma_free(struct videobuf_dmabuf *dma)
 	BUG_ON(dma->sglen);
 
 	if (dma->pages) {
-		for (i = 0; i < dma->nr_pages; i++)
+		for (i = 0; i < dma->nr_pages; i++) {
+			if (dma->direction == DMA_FROM_DEVICE)
+				set_page_dirty_lock(dma->pages[i]);
 			put_page(dma->pages[i]);
+		}
 		kfree(dma->pages);
 		dma->pages = NULL;
 	}
-- 
2.24.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists