lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 10 Dec 2019 18:53:02 -0800
From:   John Hubbard <jhubbard@...dia.com>
To:     Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
CC:     Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@...hat.com>,
        Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>,
        Björn Töpel <bjorn.topel@...el.com>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
        Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>,
        Dave Chinner <david@...morbit.com>,
        David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@...el.com>, Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
        Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@...pe.ca>, Jens Axboe <axboe@...nel.dk>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@...hat.com>,
        Magnus Karlsson <magnus.karlsson@...el.com>,
        "Mauro Carvalho Chehab" <mchehab@...nel.org>,
        Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
        Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
        Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@...cle.com>,
        "Paul Mackerras" <paulus@...ba.org>, Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>, <bpf@...r.kernel.org>,
        <dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org>, <kvm@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-block@...r.kernel.org>, <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org>, <linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-media@...r.kernel.org>, <linux-rdma@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org>, <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-mm@...ck.org>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        John Hubbard <jhubbard@...dia.com>,
        "Leon Romanovsky" <leonro@...lanox.com>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>,
        "Jason Gunthorpe" <jgg@...lanox.com>
Subject: [PATCH v9 09/25] IB/umem: use get_user_pages_fast() to pin DMA pages

And get rid of the mmap_sem calls, as part of that. Note
that get_user_pages_fast() will, if necessary, fall back to
__gup_longterm_unlocked(), which takes the mmap_sem as needed.

Reviewed-by: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@...lanox.com>
Reviewed-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>
Reviewed-by: Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>
Reviewed-by: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@...lanox.com>
Reviewed-by: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@...el.com>
Signed-off-by: John Hubbard <jhubbard@...dia.com>
---
 drivers/infiniband/core/umem.c | 17 ++++++-----------
 1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 11 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/infiniband/core/umem.c b/drivers/infiniband/core/umem.c
index 7a3b99597ead..214e87aa609d 100644
--- a/drivers/infiniband/core/umem.c
+++ b/drivers/infiniband/core/umem.c
@@ -266,16 +266,13 @@ struct ib_umem *ib_umem_get(struct ib_udata *udata, unsigned long addr,
 	sg = umem->sg_head.sgl;
 
 	while (npages) {
-		down_read(&mm->mmap_sem);
-		ret = get_user_pages(cur_base,
-				     min_t(unsigned long, npages,
-					   PAGE_SIZE / sizeof (struct page *)),
-				     gup_flags | FOLL_LONGTERM,
-				     page_list, NULL);
-		if (ret < 0) {
-			up_read(&mm->mmap_sem);
+		ret = get_user_pages_fast(cur_base,
+					  min_t(unsigned long, npages,
+						PAGE_SIZE /
+						sizeof(struct page *)),
+					  gup_flags | FOLL_LONGTERM, page_list);
+		if (ret < 0)
 			goto umem_release;
-		}
 
 		cur_base += ret * PAGE_SIZE;
 		npages   -= ret;
@@ -283,8 +280,6 @@ struct ib_umem *ib_umem_get(struct ib_udata *udata, unsigned long addr,
 		sg = ib_umem_add_sg_table(sg, page_list, ret,
 			dma_get_max_seg_size(context->device->dma_device),
 			&umem->sg_nents);
-
-		up_read(&mm->mmap_sem);
 	}
 
 	sg_mark_end(sg);
-- 
2.24.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists