lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 10 Dec 2019 18:53:01 -0800
From:   John Hubbard <jhubbard@...dia.com>
To:     Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
CC:     Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@...hat.com>,
        Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>,
        Björn Töpel <bjorn.topel@...el.com>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
        Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>,
        Dave Chinner <david@...morbit.com>,
        David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@...el.com>, Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
        Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@...pe.ca>, Jens Axboe <axboe@...nel.dk>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@...hat.com>,
        Magnus Karlsson <magnus.karlsson@...el.com>,
        "Mauro Carvalho Chehab" <mchehab@...nel.org>,
        Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
        Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
        Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@...cle.com>,
        "Paul Mackerras" <paulus@...ba.org>, Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>, <bpf@...r.kernel.org>,
        <dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org>, <kvm@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-block@...r.kernel.org>, <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org>, <linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-media@...r.kernel.org>, <linux-rdma@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org>, <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-mm@...ck.org>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        John Hubbard <jhubbard@...dia.com>,
        "Christoph Hellwig" <hch@....de>,
        Leon Romanovsky <leonro@...lanox.com>
Subject: [PATCH v9 08/25] mm/gup: allow FOLL_FORCE for get_user_pages_fast()

Commit 817be129e6f2 ("mm: validate get_user_pages_fast flags") allowed
only FOLL_WRITE and FOLL_LONGTERM to be passed to get_user_pages_fast().
This, combined with the fact that get_user_pages_fast() falls back to
"slow gup", which *does* accept FOLL_FORCE, leads to an odd situation:
if you need FOLL_FORCE, you cannot call get_user_pages_fast().

There does not appear to be any reason for filtering out FOLL_FORCE.
There is nothing in the _fast() implementation that requires that we
avoid writing to the pages. So it appears to have been an oversight.

Fix by allowing FOLL_FORCE to be set for get_user_pages_fast().

Fixes: 817be129e6f2 ("mm: validate get_user_pages_fast flags")
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>
Reviewed-by: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@...lanox.com>
Reviewed-by: Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>
Signed-off-by: John Hubbard <jhubbard@...dia.com>
---
 mm/gup.c | 3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/mm/gup.c b/mm/gup.c
index c0c56888e7cc..958ab0757389 100644
--- a/mm/gup.c
+++ b/mm/gup.c
@@ -2414,7 +2414,8 @@ int get_user_pages_fast(unsigned long start, int nr_pages,
 	unsigned long addr, len, end;
 	int nr = 0, ret = 0;
 
-	if (WARN_ON_ONCE(gup_flags & ~(FOLL_WRITE | FOLL_LONGTERM)))
+	if (WARN_ON_ONCE(gup_flags & ~(FOLL_WRITE | FOLL_LONGTERM |
+				       FOLL_FORCE)))
 		return -EINVAL;
 
 	start = untagged_addr(start) & PAGE_MASK;
-- 
2.24.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists