lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed,  8 Jan 2020 21:05:23 +0100
From:   Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@...nel.org>
To:     Richard Henderson <rth@...ddle.net>,
        Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@...assic.park.msu.ru>,
        Matt Turner <mattst88@...il.com>,
        Alexey Brodkin <abrodkin@...opsys.com>,
        Vineet Gupta <vgupta@...opsys.com>,
        "James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@...senPartnership.com>,
        Helge Deller <deller@....de>,
        Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>,
        Paul Mackerras <paulus@...ba.org>,
        Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
        Yoshinori Sato <ysato@...rs.sourceforge.jp>,
        Rich Felker <dalias@...c.org>,
        Dave Airlie <airlied@...hat.com>,
        David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>,
        Ben Skeggs <bskeggs@...hat.com>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>,
        Jiri Slaby <jirislaby@...il.com>,
        Nick Kossifidis <mickflemm@...il.com>,
        Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
        Kalle Valo <kvalo@...eaurora.org>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@...el.com>,
        Jon Mason <jdmason@...zu.us>, Allen Hubbe <allenbh@...il.com>,
        "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@...hat.com>,
        Jason Wang <jasowang@...hat.com>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@...nel.org>,
        Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@...der.be>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        linux-alpha@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-snps-arc@...ts.infradead.org, linux-parisc@...r.kernel.org,
        linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org, linux-sh@...r.kernel.org,
        dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org, nouveau@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        linux-media@...r.kernel.org, linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-ntb@...glegroups.com,
        virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
        linux-arch@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v2 4/9] virtio: pci: Constify ioreadX() iomem argument (as in generic implementation)

The ioreadX() helpers have inconsistent interface.  On some architectures
void *__iomem address argument is a pointer to const, on some not.

Implementations of ioreadX() do not modify the memory under the address
so they can be converted to a "const" version for const-safety and
consistency among architectures.

Signed-off-by: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@...nel.org>
Reviewed-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@...der.be>

---

Changes since v1:
1. Add Geert's review.
---
 drivers/virtio/virtio_pci_modern.c | 6 +++---
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/virtio/virtio_pci_modern.c b/drivers/virtio/virtio_pci_modern.c
index 7abcc50838b8..fc58db4ab6c3 100644
--- a/drivers/virtio/virtio_pci_modern.c
+++ b/drivers/virtio/virtio_pci_modern.c
@@ -26,16 +26,16 @@
  * method, i.e. 32-bit accesses for 32-bit fields, 16-bit accesses
  * for 16-bit fields and 8-bit accesses for 8-bit fields.
  */
-static inline u8 vp_ioread8(u8 __iomem *addr)
+static inline u8 vp_ioread8(const u8 __iomem *addr)
 {
 	return ioread8(addr);
 }
-static inline u16 vp_ioread16 (__le16 __iomem *addr)
+static inline u16 vp_ioread16 (const __le16 __iomem *addr)
 {
 	return ioread16(addr);
 }
 
-static inline u32 vp_ioread32(__le32 __iomem *addr)
+static inline u32 vp_ioread32(const __le32 __iomem *addr)
 {
 	return ioread32(addr);
 }
-- 
2.17.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists