lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 10 Mar 2020 12:59:15 -0700
From:   Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>
To:     Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>
Cc:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Igor Lubashev <ilubashe@...mai.com>,
        Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@...ux.intel.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>,
        Jiwei Sun <jiwei.sun@...driver.com>,
        yuzhoujian <yuzhoujian@...ichuxing.com>,
        Kan Liang <kan.liang@...ux.intel.com>,
        Jin Yao <yao.jin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Leo Yan <leo.yan@...aro.org>,
        John Garry <john.garry@...wei.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        bpf@...r.kernel.org, linux-perf-users@...r.kernel.org,
        Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] perf tools: add support for lipfm4

On Tue, Mar 10, 2020 at 11:50:03AM -0700, Ian Rogers wrote:
> This patch links perf with the libpfm4 library.
> This library contains all the hardware event tables for all
> processors supported by perf_events. This is a helper library
> that help convert from a symbolic event name to the event
> encoding required by the underlying kernel interface. This
> library is open-source and available from: http://perfmon2.sf.net.

For most CPUs the builtin perf JSON event support should make
this redundant.

Perhaps you could list what CPUs it actually supports over
the existing JSON tables.

If it's only a few it would be likely better to add
appropiate json files.

If it's a massive number it might be useful, although
JSON support would be better for those too.

-Andi

Powered by blists - more mailing lists