lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 11 Apr 2020 19:11:56 +0300
From:   Leon Romanovsky <leon@...nel.org>
To:     Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>
Cc:     "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
        Keyur Chudgar <keyur@...amperecomputing.com>,
        Don Fry <pcnet32@...ntier.com>,
        Veaceslav Falico <vfalico@...il.com>,
        Jay Vosburgh <j.vosburgh@...il.com>, linux-acenic@...site.dk,
        Maxime Ripard <mripard@...nel.org>,
        Heiko Stuebner <heiko@...ech.de>,
        Mark Einon <mark.einon@...il.com>,
        Chris Snook <chris.snook@...il.com>,
        linux-rockchip@...ts.infradead.org,
        Iyappan Subramanian <iyappan@...amperecomputing.com>,
        Igor Russkikh <irusskikh@...vell.com>,
        David Dillow <dave@...dillows.org>,
        Netanel Belgazal <netanel@...zon.com>,
        Quan Nguyen <quan@...amperecomputing.com>,
        Jay Cliburn <jcliburn@...il.com>,
        Lino Sanfilippo <LinoSanfilippo@....de>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        Andreas Larsson <andreas@...sler.com>,
        Andy Gospodarek <andy@...yhouse.net>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        Thor Thayer <thor.thayer@...ux.intel.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Ion Badulescu <ionut@...ula.org>,
        Arthur Kiyanovski <akiyano@...zon.com>,
        Jes Sorensen <jes@...ined-monkey.org>,
        nios2-dev@...ts.rocketboards.org, Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@...e.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] net/3com/3c515: Fix MODULE_ARCH_VERMAGIC redefinition

On Sat, Apr 11, 2020 at 05:56:23PM +0200, Borislav Petkov wrote:
> From: Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>
>
> Change the include order so that MODULE_ARCH_VERMAGIC from the arch
> header arch/x86/include/asm/module.h gets used instead of the fallback
> from include/linux/vermagic.h and thus fix:
>
>   In file included from ./include/linux/module.h:30,
>                    from drivers/net/ethernet/3com/3c515.c:56:
>   ./arch/x86/include/asm/module.h:73: warning: "MODULE_ARCH_VERMAGIC" redefined
>      73 | # define MODULE_ARCH_VERMAGIC MODULE_PROC_FAMILY
>         |
>   In file included from drivers/net/ethernet/3com/3c515.c:25:
>   ./include/linux/vermagic.h:28: note: this is the location of the previous definition
>      28 | #define MODULE_ARCH_VERMAGIC ""
>         |
>
> Fixes: 6bba2e89a88c ("net/3com: Delete driver and module versions from 3com drivers")
> Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>
> ---
>  drivers/net/ethernet/3com/3c515.c | 2 +-
>  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

Probably, this is the right change, but I have a feeling that the right
solution will be inside headers itself. It is a little bit strange that
both very common kernel headers like module.h and vermagic.h are location
dependant.

Thanks

>
> diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/3com/3c515.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/3com/3c515.c
> index 90312fcd6319..cdceef891dbd 100644
> --- a/drivers/net/ethernet/3com/3c515.c
> +++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/3com/3c515.c
> @@ -22,7 +22,6 @@
>
>  */
>
> -#include <linux/vermagic.h>
>  #define DRV_NAME		"3c515"
>
>  #define CORKSCREW 1
> @@ -67,6 +66,7 @@ static int max_interrupt_work = 20;
>  #include <linux/timer.h>
>  #include <linux/ethtool.h>
>  #include <linux/bitops.h>
> +#include <linux/vermagic.h>
>
>  #include <linux/uaccess.h>
>  #include <asm/io.h>
> --
> 2.21.0
>
> --
> Regards/Gruss,
>     Boris.
>
> https://people.kernel.org/tglx/notes-about-netiquette

Powered by blists - more mailing lists