lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 14 Apr 2020 20:00:56 +0200
From:   Andrzej Pietrasiewicz <andrzej.p@...labora.com>
To:     linux-pm@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@...el.com>,
        "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        Len Brown <lenb@...nel.org>, Jiri Pirko <jiri@...lanox.com>,
        Ido Schimmel <idosch@...lanox.com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Peter Kaestle <peter@...e.net>,
        Darren Hart <dvhart@...radead.org>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy@...radead.org>,
        Support Opensource <support.opensource@...semi.com>,
        Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>,
        Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@...durent.com>,
        Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>,
        Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>,
        Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@...gutronix.de>,
        Fabio Estevam <festevam@...il.com>,
        NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@....com>,
        Allison Randal <allison@...utok.net>,
        Enrico Weigelt <info@...ux.net>,
        Gayatri Kammela <gayatri.kammela@...el.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, kernel@...labora.com,
        Andrzej Pietrasiewicz <andrzej.p@...labora.com>
Subject: [RFC v2 0/9] Stop monitoring disabled devices

This is the second iteration of this RFC.

The series now focuses on cleaning up the code in the first place.

After the cleanups in patches 1-3 struct thermal_zone_device is extended
so that it contains a "mode" member (patch 4/9).

The next patch (5/9) makes all thermal zone devices use the "mode" member.
This patch makes drivers' ->get_mode() methods redundant, so the next one
(6/9) removes the method altogether.

Patches 7-8/9 ensure that after changing thermal zone device's mode
an attempt will be made to monitor the device.

And finally patch 9/9 prevents DISABLED devices from being monitored.
It also adds THERMAL_DEVICE_INITIAL to accommodate the devices, which
should be monitored but cannot be initially ENABLED.

Andrzej Pietrasiewicz (9):
  thermal: int3400_thermal: Statically initialize
    .get_mode()/.set_mode() ops
  thermal: Eliminate an always-false condition
  thermal: Properly handle mode values in .set_mode()
  thermal: core: Let thermal zone device's mode be stored in its struct
  thermal: Store mode in thermal_zone_device
  thermal: Remove get_mode() method
  thermal: core: Monitor thermal zone after mode change
  thermal: of: Monitor thermal zone after enabling it
  thermal: core: Stop polling DISABLED thermal devices

 drivers/acpi/thermal.c                        | 44 +++++----------
 .../ethernet/mellanox/mlxsw/core_thermal.c    | 43 ++++-----------
 drivers/platform/x86/acerhdf.c                | 28 +++++-----
 drivers/thermal/da9062-thermal.c              | 12 +---
 drivers/thermal/imx_thermal.c                 | 30 ++++------
 .../intel/int340x_thermal/int3400_thermal.c   | 39 +++----------
 .../thermal/intel/intel_quark_dts_thermal.c   | 27 ++++-----
 drivers/thermal/of-thermal.c                  | 28 ++++------
 drivers/thermal/thermal_core.c                | 40 ++++++++++++--
 drivers/thermal/thermal_core.h                |  2 +
 drivers/thermal/thermal_sysfs.c               | 40 ++++----------
 include/linux/thermal.h                       | 55 ++++++++++++++++++-
 12 files changed, 180 insertions(+), 208 deletions(-)

-- 
2.17.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists