lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 29 Apr 2020 12:24:54 +0200
From:   Arend Van Spriel <arend.vanspriel@...adcom.com>
To:     Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Franky Lin <franky.lin@...adcom.com>,
        Hante Meuleman <hante.meuleman@...adcom.com>,
        Chi-Hsien Lin <chi-hsien.lin@...ress.com>,
        Wright Feng <wright.feng@...ress.com>,
        Kalle Valo <kvalo@...eaurora.org>
Cc:     "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Pieter-Paul Giesberts <pieter-paul.giesberts@...adcom.com>,
        Rafał Miłecki <rafal@...ecki.pl>,
        linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org,
        brcm80211-dev-list.pdl@...adcom.com,
        brcm80211-dev-list@...ress.com, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] brcmfmac: no need to check return value of debugfs_create
 functions

On 4/29/2020 12:15 PM, Greg Kroah-Hartman wrote:
> When calling debugfs functions, there is no need to ever check the
> return value.  The function can work or not, but the code logic should
> never do something different based on this.
> 
> In doing this, make brcmf_debugfs_add_entry() return void as no one was
> even paying attention to the return value.
> 
> Cc: Arend van Spriel <arend.vanspriel@...adcom.com>
> Cc: Franky Lin <franky.lin@...adcom.com>
> Cc: Hante Meuleman <hante.meuleman@...adcom.com>
> Cc: Chi-Hsien Lin <chi-hsien.lin@...ress.com>
> Cc: Wright Feng <wright.feng@...ress.com>
> Cc: Kalle Valo <kvalo@...eaurora.org>
> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>
> Cc: Pieter-Paul Giesberts <pieter-paul.giesberts@...adcom.com>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
> Cc: "Rafał Miłecki" <rafal@...ecki.pl>
> Cc: linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: brcm80211-dev-list.pdl@...adcom.com
> Cc: brcm80211-dev-list@...ress.com
> Cc: netdev@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org

Acked-by: Arend van Spriel <arend.vanspriel@...adcom.com>
> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
> ---
>   .../net/wireless/broadcom/brcm80211/brcmfmac/debug.c |  9 +++------
>   .../net/wireless/broadcom/brcm80211/brcmfmac/debug.h | 12 +++++-------
>   2 files changed, 8 insertions(+), 13 deletions(-)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists