lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 6 May 2020 13:37:40 +0200
From:   <nicolas.ferre@...rochip.com>
To:     <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        "Claudiu Beznea" <claudiu.beznea@...rochip.com>,
        <harini.katakam@...inx.com>
CC:     <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...tlin.com>,
        <antoine.tenart@...tlin.com>, <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@...rochip.com>
Subject: [PATCH v4 4/5] net: macb: fix macb_suspend() by removing call to netif_carrier_off()

From: Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@...rochip.com>

As we now use the phylink call to phylink_stop() in the non-WoL path,
there is no need for this call to netif_carrier_off() anymore. It can
disturb the underlying phylink FSM.

Fixes: 7897b071ac3b ("net: macb: convert to phylink")
Signed-off-by: Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@...rochip.com>
Reviewed-by: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
Cc: Claudiu Beznea <claudiu.beznea@...rochip.com>
Cc: Harini Katakam <harini.katakam@...inx.com>
Cc: Antoine Tenart <antoine.tenart@...tlin.com>
---
Changes in v2:
- new in v2 serries

 drivers/net/ethernet/cadence/macb_main.c | 1 -
 1 file changed, 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/cadence/macb_main.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/cadence/macb_main.c
index 24c044dc7fa0..ebc57cd5d286 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/cadence/macb_main.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/cadence/macb_main.c
@@ -4562,7 +4562,6 @@ static int __maybe_unused macb_suspend(struct device *dev)
 			bp->pm_data.scrt2 = gem_readl_n(bp, ETHT, SCRT2_ETHT);
 	}
 
-	netif_carrier_off(netdev);
 	if (bp->ptp_info)
 		bp->ptp_info->ptp_remove(netdev);
 	pm_runtime_force_suspend(dev);
-- 
2.26.2

Powered by blists - more mailing lists