lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 8 May 2020 21:37:55 +0530
From:   Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>
To:     Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@....com>
Cc:     Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>,
        "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        linux.cj@...il.com, Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Cristi Sovaiala <cristian.sovaiala@....com>,
        Florin Laurentiu Chiculita <florinlaurentiu.chiculita@....com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....nxp.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@...ux.intel.com>,
        Varun Sethi <V.Sethi@....com>,
        "Rajesh V . Bikkina" <rajesh.bikkina@....com>,
        ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Diana Madalina Craciun <diana.craciun@....com>,
        netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, Marcin Wojtas <mw@...ihalf.com>,
        Laurentiu Tudor <laurentiu.tudor@....com>,
        Makarand Pawagi <makarand.pawagi@....com>,
        linux-arm Mailing List <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Pankaj Bansal <pankaj.bansal@....com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [net-next PATCH v3 4/5] net: phy: Introduce fwnode_get_phy_id()

On Thu, May 07, 2020 at 02:54:09PM -0500, Jeremy Linton wrote:
> Hi,
> 
> On 5/7/20 12:27 PM, Andy Shevchenko wrote:
> > On Thu, May 7, 2020 at 4:26 PM Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@....com> wrote:
> > > On 5/5/20 8:29 AM, Calvin Johnson wrote:
> > 
> > > > +             if (sscanf(cp, "ethernet-phy-id%4x.%4x",
> > > > +                        &upper, &lower) == 2) {
> > > > +                     *phy_id = ((upper & 0xFFFF) << 16) | (lower & 0xFFFF);
> > > > +                     return 0;
> > > > +             }
> > 
> > > Isn't the ACPI _CID() conceptually similar to the DT compatible
> > > property?
> > 
> > Where?
> 
> Not, sure I understand exactly what your asking. AFAIK, in general the dt
> property is used to select a device driver/etc based on a more to less
> compatible set of substrings. The phy case is a bit different because it
> codes a numerical part number into the string rather than just using
> arbitrary strings to select a driver and device. But it uses that as a
> vendor selector for binding to the correct driver/device.
> 
> Rephrasing the ACPI spec, the _CID() is either a single compatible id, or a
> list of ids in order of preference. Each id is either a HID (string or EISA
> type id) or a bus specific string encoding vendor/device/etc. (https://elixir.bootlin.com/linux/v5.7-rc4/source/drivers/acpi/acpica/utids.c#L186).
> One of the examples is "PCI\VEN_vvvv&DEV_dddd"
> 
> So that latter case seems to be almost exactly what we have here.

Got your point. Yes, the ACPI spec says the same.
If we are using _CID as a string, then it must be a string that uses a
bus-specific nomenclature. This AFAIU may take the format
"PHY\VEN_IDvvvv&ID_DDDD" as you mentioned below and not
"ethernet-phy-id004d.d072" as used in DT.
So, we need to define it some where in the Linux ACPI Documentation.
I don't see any best place to document this. Any suggestions?

> 
> > 
> > > It even appears to be getting used in a similar way to
> > > identify particular phy drivers in this case.
> > 
> > _CID() is a string. It can't be used as pure number.
> > 
> 
> It does have a numeric version defined for EISA types. OTOH I suspect that
> your right. If there were a "PHY\VEN_IDvvvv&ID_DDDD" definition, it may not
> be ideal to parse it. Instead the normal ACPI model of exactly matching the
> complete string in the phy driver might be more appropriate.

IMO, it should be fine to parse the string to extract the phy_id. Is there any
reason why we cannot do this?

> 
> Similarly to how I suspect the next patch's use of "compatible" isn't ideal
> either, because whether a device is c45 or not, should tend to be fixed to a
> particular vendor/device implementation and not a firmware provided
> property.

I tend to agree with you on this. Even for DT, ideal case, IMO should be:

1) mdiobus_scan scans the mdiobus for c22 devices by reading phy id from
registers 2 and 3
2) if not found scan for c45 devices <= looks like this is missing in Linux
3) look for phy_id from compatible string.

Meanwhile, please note some usage of compatible property in edk2-platforms:
https://github.com/tianocore/edk2-platforms/blob/master/Platform/96Boards/Secure96Dxe/Secure96.asl#L20
https://github.com/tianocore/edk2-platforms/blob/master/Silicon/Marvell/Armada7k8k/AcpiTables/Armada80x0McBin/Dsdt.asl#L280
https://github.com/tianocore/edk2-platforms/blob/master/Silicon/Socionext/SynQuacer/Drivers/PlatformDxe/Optee.asl#L17

Regards
Calvin

Powered by blists - more mailing lists