lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 11 May 2020 16:02:52 +0300
From:   Vadym Kochan <vadym.kochan@...ision.eu>
To:     Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
Cc:     Jiri Pirko <jiri@...nulli.us>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Oleksandr Mazur <oleksandr.mazur@...ision.eu>,
        Serhiy Boiko <serhiy.boiko@...ision.eu>,
        Serhiy Pshyk <serhiy.pshyk@...ision.eu>,
        Volodymyr Mytnyk <volodymyr.mytnyk@...ision.eu>,
        Taras Chornyi <taras.chornyi@...ision.eu>,
        Andrii Savka <andrii.savka@...ision.eu>,
        Jiri Pirko <jiri@...lanox.com>,
        Ido Schimmel <idosch@...lanox.com>,
        Chris Packham <Chris.Packham@...iedtelesis.co.nz>
Subject: Re: [RFC next-next v2 1/5] net: marvell: prestera: Add driver for
 Prestera family ASIC devices

Hi Andrew,

On Mon, May 11, 2020 at 02:42:45PM +0200, Andrew Lunn wrote:
> > >I understand this is not good, but currently this is simple solution to
> > >handle base MAC configuration for different boards which has this PP,
> > >otherwise it needs to by supported by platform drivers. Is there some
> > >generic way to handle this ?
> > 
> > If the HW is not capable holding the mac, I think that you can have it
> > in platform data. The usual way for such HW is to generate random mac.
> > module parameter is definitelly a no-go.
> 
> And i already suggested it should be a device tree property.
> 
>     Andrew
Looks like it might be hard for the board manufacturing? I mean each
board item need to have updated dtb file with base mac address, instead
to have common dtb for the board type.

And it sounds that platform data might be the way in case if the vendor
will implement platform device driver which will handle reading base mac
from eeprom (or other storage) depending on the board and put it to the
platform data which will be provided to prestera driver ?

Regards,
Vadym Kochan

Powered by blists - more mailing lists